CFO of local city schools earns award

COLUMBUS At the 2014 annual conference of the Ohio Association of School Business Officials (OASBO), Amy Porter,

Treasurer/CFO of St. Clairsville-Richland City Schools, was granted the association’s Southeast Region Distinguished Service Award.

Porter was nominated by her colleagues in the southeast region. She was recognized for contributing her time and talents to her profession, community, and to the association. She received a commemorative award and a $500 student scholarship to grant to a college-bound senior from the school district. (The scholarship is sponsored by public finance firm RBC Capital Markets).

With a start in school business in 1997, Porter has demonstrated continued dedication to the success of her colleagues in the school business profession, as well as the success of the school districts and community she has served.

Porter has acted as treasurer of OASBO’s Southeast chapter, and is currently in her second term as its president. In that capacity, she organizes professional development seminars for school business officials in her region. In addition, she coordinates monthly meetings with school district treasurers from neighboring counties (Belmont, Jefferson, Guernsey, Harrison and Carroll).

At St. Clairsville-Richland City Schools, Porter continues to utilize her financial expertise to maximize the district’s financial resources. In her previous experience as Treasurer of the Bridgeport Exempted Village School District she also served as the Federal Programs Coordinator and the Cafeteria Supervisor.

In the community, Porter is a member of the First Christian Church and serves on the finance committee, and has also served many years as treasurer of Belmont County Right to Life. She has coached t-ball and is a basketball coach for the Upwards program.

OASBO’s Executive Director David Varda states, “Our members are the key players responsible annually for billions of public dollars within public school districts. Their successes and personal contributions to their profession and community often go unrecognized, so we’re excited to be able to formally applaud their efforts.”

Varda continues, “OASBO is proud that recognition of our members also leads to scholarships for the students we serve.” In response to receiving the award Porter stated, “It is an honor to be recognized by OASBO. They are a valuable organization that supports our profession and lobbies for the most efficient and effective use of state funding for schools. I am privileged to work with the dedicated board and staff of the St. Clairsville Richland City School District and the outstanding school district treasurers in my region.”

Other winners included: LuAnn Vanek, treasurer/CFO of Elmwood Local Schools (northwest region); Greg Slemons, treasurer/CFO of Orange City Schools (northeast region); Jeff McCuen, treasurer/CFO of St. Worthington City Schools (central region); Charles Klein, treasurer/ CFO of Milton-Union Exempted Village Schools (southwest region).

About the Ohio Association of School Business Officials Founded in 1936, OASBO is a not-for-profit, professional association serving the continuing education and legislative needs of public school district treasurers/CFO’s, business managers, transportation directors, food & nutrition directors and district support staff.

Headquartered in Columbus, Ohio, OASBO has four statewide chapters and twelve chapters across five regions, serving over 1200 members statewide. For more information, visit our website at