Ohio Scholars Program honors local students

THE OHIO Foundation of Independent Colleges (OFIC) announces that through its Ohio Scholars Program it has awarded 1,024 scholarships statewide to students enrolled in its 34 member colleges for the 2008-2009 academic year. The total value of the scholarships is nearly $1.7 million.

In its eighteenth year, The Ohio Scholars Program is funded by 148 corporations and foundations whose contributions provide scholarships to academically qualified students who might otherwise find the cost of higher education prohibitive. “As we face today’s economic challenges, scholarships have become one of the most effective ways of helping students attend college and graduate within four years. OFIC need-based scholarships provide financial support and personal encouragement that make a vital difference to students who otherwise might not consider college an option,” says Jeffrey S. Wolf, President, OFIC.

The Ohio Scholars Program donors are recognized at various levels of giving, from Associate’s Club ($2,500 minimum) to Founder’s Club ($100,000 and above). All scholarship recipients are selected based on recommendations from their colleges and meet criteria established by the donors. These criteria may include area of study, academic standing, geographic region or ethnicity, to name just a few.

OFIC is the primary corporate and foundation solicitation organization for 34 independent Ohio colleges and universities and operates one of the largest, most comprehensive and diverse scholarship management services in the state. OFIC member colleges collectively enroll nearly 97,000 students and award one-third of all bachelor’s degrees in the state. For 58 years OFIC has worked to highlight the leadership, value and excellence of independent higher education and has provided unrestricted operating funds and scholarship commitments through funds raised in annual solicitations of businesses and foundations, thereby assuring continuation of excellence in private higher education. OFIC is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of Ohio’s corporate leaders, as well as presidents of the 34 member colleges.

The member colleges are: Ashland University, Baldwin-Wallace College, Bluffton University, Capital University, Cedarville University, University of Dayton, Defiance College, Denison University, The University of Findlay, Franciscan University of Steubenville, Franklin University, Heidelberg College, Hiram College, John Carroll University, Kenyon College, Lake Erie College, Lourdes College, Malone University, Marietta College Mount Union College, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Muskingum College, Notre Dame College, Oberlin College, Ohio Dominican University, Ohio Northern University, Ohio Wesleyan University, Otterbein College, Urbana University, Ursuline College, Walsh University, Wilmington College, Wittenberg University and The College of Wooster.

Southeast Area scholarship donors to The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges: The UPS Foundation, Inc., Nancy Flowers, Bellaire – attending Marietta College; Bob Evans Farms, Inc., Brandi Martin, Caldwell – attending Muskingum College; American Electric Power Foundation, Bethany Caldwell, Beallsville – attending The College of Wooster.