St. C band excels in contest

The St. Clairsville High School Band members recently participated in Ohio Music Educators Association District 9 Solo and Ensemble Contest. This event was held at John Glenn High School in the East Muskingum School District. Students volunteered to take time outside of class to prepare solos and small ensemble performances. These students then performed in front of judges, peers and other attendees from local schools.

The 26 students performed in 28 events. Of those entries, the students combined to achieve 16 superior ratings (highest rating offered), 9 excellent ratings (2nd highest), and 3 good ratings. Many of the students participated in multiple events and combined to earn 47 total medals.

Under the direction of Greg Miller, Director of Bands, and Wendy Zinn, Assistant Director of Bands, the success of these students has shown extraordinary growth in just two years. The number of superior ratings has increased 533% and the excellent ratings have nearly doubled during this time.

Students who participated and received superior or excellent ratings are: Scott Jackson, Kyle Hoffman, Sean Janezic, Janessa Mottle, Kia Crawford, Nathan Bohach, Emily Porter, Christopher Sommers, Shelby Milhoan, Kaylyn Chase, Rebecca Clark, Markie Hinkle, Caitlin Doty, Erica Strope, Kelsey Perkins, Nichole Riggle, Robert Brumfield, Katherine Purman, Zach Ratka, Travis Habursky, Jessica Lipscomb, Katie Buchanan, Alyssa Purman, and Courtney Yeager.