Scholarship winners named

THIRTEEN WINNERS of the Upper Ohio Valley Italian Festival Foundation Scholarship Committee from the six surrounding county high schools are as follows. There are two from each county and one special award. The scholarships are based on academic achievement community involvement and financial need in the amount of $1,000 each. From St. Clairsville: Eric Wheeler; Buckeye Local, Raeanna Peckens and Thomas Cominsky; Weirton Madonna, Dante Greco; Oak Glen, Mariah Ludovici; Wheeling Park, Joseph Nazzaro and Bethany Cogley; Brooke High, Lisa Mazzella and Perry Casinelli; John Marshall, Tori Padlow; Bishop Donahue, Cora Defazio; Martins Ferry, Leian Riggs.

Stephanie Rosnick of Weir High won the Michael J. Sinicropi award for her plans to pursue a degree in broadcast journalism. The late Mr. Sinicropi was the former chairman and board member of the Italian Festival and was the host of the Italian Hour on WEIR Radio in Weirton, a program that he hosted for 32 years.

A recognition ceremony for this year’s scholarship winners will be held on July 25, at the Heritage Port Stage during the Italian Festival.