Shadyside commencement set for May 27

SHADYSIDE HIGH School Graduation exercises are set for Thursday, May 27, at 7 p.m., at Fleming Field. If weather prevails the ceremony will be transferred to the high school auditorium and the rescheduled time will be 7:30 p.m. There will be no reserved seats.

Zachary Coates, Valedictorian of the Class of 2010, is the son of Mark and Ann Coates of Shadyside. He will graduate with a 4.2 G.P.A.

Coates activities include being a four-year member of the marching and concert bands, a two-year member of the jazz band and a three-year member of the OVAC All-Star band. A four-year member of the golf team, and a two-year member of the track team. He is the senior class president and was the sophomore class president; a two- year member and president of the National Honor Society; a four- year member of student council, a two-year member of the JETS team and a member of Close-Up.

Coates honors include participant in WVU’s 31st annual high school invitational, honor band and a delegate to the Buckeye Boy’s State.

Coates plans to attend The Ohio State University to study bio-medical engineering and pre-medicine.

Amanda Marie Paliswat, Salutatorian of the Shadyside Class of 2010 is the daughter of Pete and Darlene Paliswat of Shadyside. She will graduate with a 4.02 G.P.A.

Paliswat activities include being a member of the basketball team, Prom committee, basketball and football little sisters, JETS, Yearbook section editor and Close-Up.

Paliswat honors include being a member of the National Honor Society of which she was the vice-president; American Chemical Society Award, OVAC Academic Award, Who’s Who among American High School Students.

Paliswat plans to attend Miami University of Ohio and major in chemistry.

The following students who will receive their diplomas are: Justin Robert Andes, Amy Katherine Bednar, Sarah Dray Benedetta, Mason Daniels Bigler, Michaelene Ann Booth, Morgan Leigh-Ann Breyer, Heath Ryan Brooks, Keith Whitley Brown, Michael Allen Christy, Tyler Adam Cline, Zachary Alan Coates, Anson McCartney Core, Casey Lynn Early, Colby Edward Emery, Joshua Jay Eneix, Brittany Nicole Fisher, Debbie Nichole Francis, Christa Renee’ Frazier, Carl Joseph Gavlik, Ray Michael Gavlik, Emily Rose Good, William Clyde Hammond, Rebecca Jane Haney, Sommer Nichole Hans, Troy Timothy Haswell, Brandon Andrew Heath, Robert Edward Henderson, Darryl Hill Jr., Dane-Ell Sabrina Hoskinson, Jaclyn Michelle Johnson, Jessica Lauren Johnson, Dylan Lee Kimble, Jay Michael Kovalo, Molly Elizabeth Kozlowski, Angela Nichole Krieg, Noah Stephen Kritz, Ashten Elizabeth Laquaglia, Breanna Marie Lemasters, Cassandra Nicole Littleton, Maggie Elizabeth Long, Daniel Paul Lucas, Dylan Gram McCartney, Jeffrey Dale Mellott, Kayla Marie Miller, Taylor Steven Minger, Matthew Travis Monroe, Jennie Marie Mullett, George Allen Nichols, William John Nieman, Miranda Lynn O’Dell, Patrick William O’Donnell III, Amanda Marie Paliswat, Robert Travis Parker, Dean Anthony Pasztor, Lynsey Anne Pickenpaugh, Kayla Myrea Piper, Duane Ray Potts, Kayla Ann Marie Price, Clarissa Marie Ralbovsky, Jana Lea Ramsay, Brittany Ann Richardson, Jessica Marie Robinson, Alexis Jade Ruggiero, Nicholas Gehrig Schuetz, Andrew Robert Selmon, Robin Elizabeth Sexton, Sean Michael Simonson, Benson Martin Snyder, Lauren Beth Stevens, Nicholas Edward Vasey, Matthew Joseph Vinka, Callie Dawn Williams.