Science Day participants recognized

ST. CLAIRSVILLE – Local students who participated in the annual State Science Day were recognized for their achievements this week by the Belmont County Commissioners, who passed a resolution in their honor.

A program by the Ohio Academy of Science, the annual State Science Day is recognized throughout the United States as the pinnacle of student originated inquiry based science education.

The event took place in May at The Ohio State University in Columbus.

Many of the local students who participated in the annual event gathered at the Belmont County Courthouse on Wednesday, when the board of commissioners honored them for their work.

“I cannot begin to tell you how important science and math are for your future and your careers,” Commissioner Ginny Favede told the group of young people. “This is a tremendous accomplishment, and we’re very proud of you.”

Officials said the State Science Day is the academic equivalent of a state athletic championship and is the largest event of its kind in the nation for students in grades seven through 12, using scientific research and communication skills for their individual projects.

The board congratulated the following local students: from East Richland Christian School, Kathryn Albert, Trent Ciechomski, Alyssa Crowley, Juan Dunlap, Micaela Rockwell and Ashley Sarko; from St. Clairsville Middle School, Daulton Freeman, Austin Rine and Caitlin Wolfe; from St. Mary Central in St. Clairsville, Bond Weidman; from St. Mary Central in Martins Ferry, Micaela Connor, Malik Ford, Sydney Helms, Megan Kirkpatrick and Halli Richards; and home-schooled student from Barnesville, Zoe Buccella.

“Congratulations for your achievement,” Commissioner Chuck Probst told the students.

“And thanks for taking time out of your day and your summer break to get all dressed up to come here,” Commissioner Matt Coffland joked.

Ayres can be reached at