Jenewein thanked for service

Susann Jenewein of New Castle was recently thanked for her service to the Belmont/Monroe Farm Service Agency and her community. Jenewein has served as a county committee member of the Farm Service Agency for 7 years, most recently serving as chairperson.

Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA. They help deliver FSA farm programs at the local level. Farmers who serve on committees help decide the kind of programs their counties will offer. They work to make FSA agricultural programs serve the needs of local producers.

Committees make decisions on:

  • commodity price support loans and payments;
  • establishment of allotments and yields;
  • conservation programs;
  • incentive, indemnity, and disaster payments for some commodities; and
  • other farm disaster assistance.

FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out Federal laws. Committee members apply their judgment and knowledge to make local decisions.

Christy Collins, County Executive Director of the Belmont/Monroe Farm Service agency expressed appreciation for Susann’s commitment to the farmers in the area and for her willingness to serve.

Stephen C Wharton of Belmont was elected to fill the position formerly held by Jenewein. Other committee members include Charles Schaefer of Ozark, Dale Dietrich of New Matamoras, Clayton Farnsworth of Lewisville and Stanley Borovich of Saint Clairsville. Louella Urbanek of Beallsville serves as County Committee Advisor.

Stanley Borovich from Saint Clairsville was re-elected to serve another three year term in the recent FSA elections.