WJU announces Symposium winners

WHEELING Wheeling Jesuit University has announced the winners of the 15th annual Student Research and Scholarship Symposium, held on Tuesday, April 8.

At this years’ symposium, more than 120 students presented about 100 research findings, culminating months of study and preparation. Winners were announced in eight separate categories: humanities; English, communications, and fine arts; natural and physical sciences; social and behavioral sciences; and information science, computer science, technology, and mathematics. An award was also given to the winning design for the Symposium program cover.

A panel of faculty judges chose winners based on the quality of the presentation and overall body of work.

The Symposium ended with an evening presentation by three seniors competing for the prestigious Rev. Frank R. Haig, S.J. Science Award, to be announced at the May 17 commencement. Fr. Haig served as WJU’s third president from 1966-72. The Haig competition is the pinnacle of the Symposium event. Students vying for the award are Erin Sheplavy, psychology major, Anthony Schnelle, chemistry major and John Pennaccio, biology major. Haig recipients receive a medal along with a $2,500 prize.

The 2014 symposium winners are:

Symposium Program Cover Design: Alexa Frankovitch

Criminal Justice, International Studies and?Political Science: Sara Fitzsimon

for “Solitary Confinement and High Recidivism Rates: Are TheyRelated?, Kyle Fiesler for “Effect or Defect: An Inquiry into the Relationship Between the Death Penalty and Murder”

Laut?Honors: John Pennacchio for “A Marxist Analysis of Barbarism in Brave New World”

Service and Public?Health: Jessie Vilkofsky and Caroline Gacka for “Equine Therapy – An Outlet for Light”

Professional Education: Alexandra Anderson for “Do planned physical activities decrease the number of student interruptions to instruction and misbehaviors during a school day for third graders?”

Health Sciences: Adrianna Ferraro for “Strength Outcomes of the Hamstring Muscles Following Vitamin D Supplementation and Exercise Versus Exercise Alone in Healthy NCAA Division II Male and Female Soccer Players”

Philosophy: Ashtyne McKenzie for “Human Trafficking Explained by Marxist Feminism Theory” and John Pennacchio for “Why Should Philolaus’ Conception of Number Be Understood Epistemologically and Can Anything Be Known Without Number?”

History: Jake Zirkle for Anzio – The Surprise That Failed

English, Communications and Fine Arts: Meghan Ebbert for The Tolkien Fairy-Story: A True Work of Art

Natural, Physical and Envrironmental Sciences: Brennan Smith for “Control and Prevention of Cimex lectularius by Means of Using Diatomaceous Earth as a Non-Toxic Matrix” and Chad Ford for “Treatment of Acid Mine Drainage with Liquid Cheese Whey as a Sulfate Reducing Bacteria Stimulant” and Whitney Workman and Nathan Hupp for “Determination of Possible Bromide Contamination in Local Water Sources”

Social and Behavioral Sciences: Patrick Dwyer and Stephen Saldanha for “Effects of Weight Feedback and Disordered Eating on Food Selection In A Mock Cafeteria Buffet”

Computer Science and Technology: Sarah Algee for “Perfect Numbers and K-Perfect Numbers”

Chartered by the state of West Virginia on September 25, 1954, Wheeling Jesuit University consistently is ranked as one of America’s top regional colleges by U.S. News & World Report and other organizations. It is the youngest Jesuit institution of higher learning in the United States and the only Catholic institution of higher learning in West Virginia. Its Jesuit tradition of academic excellence and service to others draws a global student body of 1,600 undergraduate and graduate students from 25 states and 26 countries.