South Central Power Company Foundation awards scholarships

LANCASTER, Ohio — The South Central Power Foundation announced scholarship recipients at South Central Power’s recent quarterly meeting.

The foundation awarded $148,000 in college scholarships to high school seniors its February meeting. Students will receive their awards at a member event at the Barnesville office in May. Locally, the foundation awarded academic scholarships to:

Caden Arbaugh, Racquel Ritchie and Joyce Ann Barr, Harrison Central High School; Cory Bodkin, Kristen Hoffman, John Kasik, Shelby Myers and Kaily Drake, St. Clairsville High School; Justin Hamilton, Union Local High School; Dagan Hossman, Beallsville High School; Jared Lumbatis, Shenandoah High School; Kayleen Puskarich, East Guernsey Buckeye Trail High School; Brandon Tucker, Shadyside High School; and Alexis White, River High School.

In addition, the Foundation awarded technical scholarships to:

Stephanie Birney, Harrison Central; and Annelise Dumas and Jacob Hendershot, St Clairsville.

In addition, Riley Moberly of Hillsboro, who attends Hillsboro High School, was selected from among the recipients to represent South Central Power at the Ohio’s Electric Cooperatives statewide scholarship contest in April.

The South Central Power Company Foundation is separate from the electric cooperative and operates with its own 11-member board of directors. Scholarship applications are reviewed annually.

Operation Round Up, a program that automatically “rounds up” the electric cooperative members’ monthly bill to the next highest dollar funds the South Central Power Foundation. The next Operation Round Up scholarship deadline is March 31. Applications are available at