Ohio University Eastern?holds honor convocation

ST. CLAIRSVILLE – Family and friends gathered Friday evening at Ohio University’s Eastern Campus to honor the 2009 graduates. Students attending the Eastern Campus earn degrees from Ohio University.

All the diplomas and transcripts the students receive reflect that point – they all read that the students have earned either an associate’s or bachelor’s degree from Ohio University.

The Bobcats earning degrees this year are as follows: Associate’s Degrees-Barnesville: Jennifer Ackerman, Doreen Roberts; Bellaire: Kimberly Maffe; Bridgeport: Amy Martinkosky; Martins Ferry: Michael DeGasperis; Powhatan Point: Janelle McLeod; St. Clairsville: Kimberly Williams; Salesville: Wesley Bishop; and,

Bachelor’s Degrees-Alledonia: Charity Street; Barnesville: Tracie Andrews, Tina Deal, Amanda Hannahs, Susan Lucas, Malorie Pryor, Anthony Starr, Kerra Steward; Bellaire: Chad Nickerson; Bridgeport: Krista Gessler, Amy Martinkosky, Melissa Taylor; Cadiz: Autumn Leech, Luann Mallernee; Dillonvale: Jared Estock; Flushing: Kathleen Sonk; Glen Dale: Whitney Lewis; Lafferty: James McCort

; Martins Ferry: Quiano Lacy, Angela Mamone, Kelly McAninch, Natasha Thomas, Stacie Bearup; Moundsville: Nicole Majewski; Mt. Pleasant: Amy Agostinelli, Pamela Puskas; Neffs: Justin Steadman; New Athens: Dennis Watson; Powhatan Point: Cathy Kocher, Bradley Lawhorne, Carissa Rose; Quaker City: Stephanie Barker; Rayland: Valerie Lude; Richmond: Bradley Boring; Salesville: Wesley Bishop, Allison Burdette; Sardis: Nelson Potts; Shadyside: Ashley Early, Heather Goff, Lucas Morgan, Joshua Pyles, Amanda Stewart; Springfield: Carrie Thomas; St. Clairsville: Brittany Baiocco, Joseph Flynn, Lacey Locke, Gina Lucidi, Laney Simone, Kayla Verardi, Jessica Zwack; Steubenville: Tyler Barrett, Stephanie Nichols; Tiltonsville: Kandi Fetty, Donald Upson, Karen Upson; Toronto: Sean Cooper, Nicole Walker; Washington: Tara Kuzma; Westerville: April Marshall; Wheeling: Theresa Nair; Woodsfield: Scott Dierkes, Sarah Kirkland, Natasha Kline, Aaron Stiver.

Also honored at the convocation were the 2009 Outstanding Communication Studies Student, Kayla Verardi, and the 2009 Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student, Luann Mallernee.

The incoming new Appalachian Scholars were recognized. They are Jennifer Haren and Jon’Taya Solomon.

Closing the ceremony was the singing of Alma Mater, Ohio, led by Dr. Sarah Mahan-Hays to reinforce the idea to the students that they are indeed graduates and Bobcats of Ohio University.