New members welcomed to Bellaire Board of Education

BELLAIRE The Bellaire Local School District Board of Education kicked off its first meeting of the year, welcoming two new members Tom Rataiczak and Ron Marling who were elected in November in unopposed races to replace former board members Frank Danadic and Stanley Stein.

Prior to the start of the meeting, board member John LaRoche was elected to serve as president of the board for 2012.

Meetings will continue to be held on the second Monday of the month at 6 p.m.

During the meeting, Derrick McAfee, principal, Bellaire Middle School, and Steve Romey, principal, Bellaire High School, both reported suspensions at their respective buildings are down, crediting positive intervention as the cause.

Also during the meeting, the members of the board of education were presented with certificates in recognition of School Board Appreciation Month.

During the “Parade of Champions,” elementary students recognized were Giana Schimdt, Trey Johnson, Jenna Soland, Devin Schramm, Jessica Sawinski, Hasaan Kemp, Kaley Bryan, Vincent Patrone, Tayah Frazier and Austen Rejonis.

Middle school students recognized were Rachel Richmond, Preston Heslop, Jordan Doughty, Elijah Romero, Khiah Kimbro, Eric Bennington, Jerrika Gilbert and Anthony Piper.

High school students recognized were Ariann Maupin, Amy Mehlman, Vernon Trigg, Camila Sampaio and Derek Feller.

Under classified employment, the board accepted the resignation of Trudy Jenkins, fiscal assistant, effective July 1. The board also approved the hiring of Steve Dulesky, fiscal assistant.

A motion was also made to name Molly Feller as the junior class adviser. The motion was unanimously approved.

The next regular meeting of the board is scheduled for Feb. 13 at 6 p.m. in the Bellaire High School Cafeteria.