Apple festival comes to end

SMITHFIELD — A parade of 40 units and apple pie and hot dog eating contests were part of the festivities for the 40th anniversary of the Smithfield Apple Festival concluding Sunday.

The Smithfield Food Pantry volunteers rode on a wagon to start the parade of 40 units along Hill Street and down Main Street. Stan Dombroski is the pantry director.

Float winners were the Smithfield Friends Church, first, and the Brightway Center, second. The winning marching unit was the Sassy Shakers, under the direction of Debbie Blevins, with the novelty unit winner being the Wells Township Haunted House van with sound effects, operated by Shawn Norman and Ernie Mozingo. The best police cruisers’ award went to Wintersville and Wells Township. Other winners were the best EMS unit, Bloomingdale; and best vehicle, Billy Petrella.

Fire departments taking part in the parade included Canton Township, Brilliant, Rayland, Pleasant Hill, Mount Pleasant, Tiltonsville, Bloomingdale, Yorkville and Wayne Township. Smithfield had the 1839 engine No. 1 in the parade.

The apple baking contest winners were:

Cake Louise Pastre.

Pies Marilyn Walters, first, and Esther McCoy, second and third.

Cookies McCoy, first and third, and Walters, second.

Dumplings Walters.

Pastry winners Crystal Brown, first, and McCoy, second.

Miscellaneous Jean Reed, first, and Crystal Brown, second.

Catch all category A pplesauce pancakes infused with bacon and pure maple syrup, first, and overall best use of apples; baked tri-bean casserole with apples, second; and a jar of apple butter, third.

An auction of the baked goods was held with Pat Freeland as auctioneer following the contest, with Ross Gallabrese and Mary Ellen Grafton as judges.

The apple pie eating contest winner was Robert Evans, with Bruce Riley placing second and Jack Reese, third.

The 12-year-and-under hot dog eating contest winner was Lance Evans, with Brice Flaherty placing second. The 14-and-up category was won by Aaron Lambert, with John Harris placing second.

The apple peeling contest winner was Ken Gunn for the second year. Jennifer Sockman was second, and Liz Matthews was third.

Pet show winners were Zack Reed with a dog with the longest tail, largest animal and best all around; Jesse Vitek, turtle, shortest tail, smallest and cutest; Mallary Reed, dog, best dressed; and Karacel Hayman, dog, most unusual.