Boyer, Sefsick retain their positions; Norris elected

CADIZ – This Election Day saw a victory for the incumbents in Harrison County’s several contested seats, as well as the election of a new county commissioner. The winners were on the Democrat ticket.

Commissioner William Host took the victory with 3,561, 52.11 percent, over challenger Paul Coffland’s 3,273 or 47.89 percent.

“I’m real happy with the results. I want to thank the residents of Harrison County for putting their faith in me. We’re going to get right to work to handle this influx of work coming in with oil and gas and do the best for the county,” Host said, noting that the past years have been marked by lean times and attention to government finances. “I can’t thank residents of the county enough for giving me a vote of confidence.”

The county will also see a new commissioner in Dale Norris, who took 4,224 votes, or 62.27 percent over fellow contender Lynn Mendenhall’s 2,559 or 37.73 percent.

“I’d like to thank the people of Harrison County for supporting me. I look forward to serving them for the next four years as a county commissioner,” said Norris, noting the need for leadership in looking to the county’s interests during the influx of industry. “It’s going to be a crucial time.”

Longtime Recorder Tracy Boyer will retain her position, winning with 4,196 votes, or 62.15 percent to R. Eugene Hilligas’ 2,555 or 37.85 percent.

“I’d like to thank the voters of Harrsion County for their continued support. It’s an honor for me to serve as the Harrison County recorder,z and I look forward to the recorder’s office leading the way in the Marcellus and Utica Shale epidemic.”

Treasurer Vicki Sefsick won another term with 4,244 votes, or 62.09 percent to Richard W. Anderson’s 2,591 or 37.91 percent.

“I want to thank the voters for their votes. I’ll continue to serve the taxpayers and the public and continue to move the office forward,” Sefsick said.

DeFrank can be reached at