Taking another shot

BELLAIRE Bellaire Board of Education approved a resolution during its regular meeting here Monday, to try once again to get voter approval of a five year emergency levy that would generate $961,200 per year. The levy will be on the May 7 Primary Election ballot.

In November, votes defeated the emergency levy that would generate the same amount of money for the district.

It was the fifth attempt by the district to generate funds to get the school district back in the back after having been declared to be in “fiscal emergency” by the state auditor office in December 2009 for having a budget deficit.

During the Parade of Champions, the board recognized the following students from Bellaire Elementary: Ashlyn Shimble, Andy Tranovich, Sidney Rowson, Christoper Somerville, Adison Teasdale, Carson Kuhns, Caitlin Silber, Tim O’Grady, Neisa Rice and Marshall Fish. From Bellaire Middle School, students recognized were Abigail Gianageli, Dalton Garloch, Maci Crozier Dylan Menendez, Gracie Patterson, Robbie Silber, Megan McCarthy and Derek Schybal. High school students of month were: Lexee Cabb, Ariann Maupin, Carolilne Shaffer, Dalton, Conroy, Spencer Dabia, Nick Patrone, Wyatt Back, Kenny Hess and Nick Maffe.

The board also met in executive session for about 30 minutes. Following the executive session, the hiring of Jennifer Difabrizio as kindergarten aide, Pam Sawinski as multiple handicap aide and Mike Gallaher as a bus driver.

Other action taken by the board included the appointment of Board member Jason Ayers as the president pro-tem by current Board President John LaRoche. The organizational meeting has been set for Jan. 14 at 5:45 p.m. in the high school cafeteria. The regular meeting is scheduled to follow the organizational meeting at 6 p.m. Ayres was also elected by the board to sit on the Belmont-Harrison Career Center Board of Education for a two year term.