Bellaire elects board president

BELLAIRE Board member Mickey Wallace has taken over the reigns as president of the Bellaire Local School Board of Education during the meeting here Monday.

The board held its organization meeting prior to the start of the regular meeting when Wallace was named president, replacing Jason Ayers. Board member Ron Marling was elected vice-president by the board.

Wallace was also elected to be one of the board’s representatives to the Joint Vocational School board for a three year term.

Several matters were acted upon by the board during the regular meeting, including recognizing students during the “Parade of Champions.”

Elementary students recognized were Ke’Mya Madison, Jakob Pacifico, Lauren Menendez, Jacob Craig, Angela Kniesner, Dominic Hall, Bethany Catlin, Jakob Dowling, Jade’lyn Garloch and Allen Shepherd.

Middle school students who got a certificate were Kyasia Johnson, Patrick Matthews, Tayah Frazier, Paul Kees, Lindsay Hess, Christopher Morgan, Gracie Patterson and Isaac Donahue.

The high school recognized students for there efforts and work with the school’s recycling program. Those students are Taylor Foster, Hank Queen, Noah White and Lacey Fankhauser.

The board members were also recognized during the meeting by Superintendent Tony Scott in honor of Ohio School Board recognition month and for the contributions they make to education.

“Being an effective school board member is no easy task, particularly in today’s climate of challenge and change,” Scott said. “Today’s school board members need to be knowledgeable about many complex educational and social issues and carry out the initiatives from both the state and federal government.”

The board also acted on several employment matters, including accepting the resignation of head varsity football coach Jose Davis.

“It’s with great disappointment and regret that Jose is stepping down,” Scott said. “I can’t say enough about him how he grew as a coach and the bond he had with the students. It will be a challenge to find someone to replace him.”

The board also approved the following contracts: Susan Smith National Honor Society; Wendy Mentzer volleyball assistant; David Hagiloizu baseball assistant; Eric Driscoll baseball volunteer, Timmy Young baseball volunteer and Chris Ciatti baseball volunteer.

Jeff Helt was approved to a maintenance position and Liza Heller was approved as a substitute aide/secretary.