Belmont County May ballot takes shape

WITH ELECTION time quickly approaching, a list of candidates has emerged in Belmont County for the May 6 primary.

The candidates below have filed for office prior to the deadline of Feb. 5. However, their petitions still have to be certified by the Belmont County Board of Elections before they can be considered as legitimate candidates for office.

Jennifer Garrison, of Marietta, will be the Democratic nominee for the 6th District Congress. Opposing her will be incumbent Bill Johnson, also of Marietta, as the Republican nominee.

Running for State Representative in the 95th District are Democrat Charles Joseph Daniels, of St. Clairsville, and incumbent Republican Andy Thompson, of Marietta.

Democrat Jack Cera, of Bellaire, is running unopposed for the 96th District Representative seat.

For the position of State Central committee, four candidates will be on the ballot. They include Democrats William E. Moore, of Woodsfield, and Deborah M. Phillips, of Albany, while the Republicans will be represented by Jim E. Carnes, of St. Clairsville, and Marilyn K. Ashcraft, of Marietta.

Seeking election as Common Pleas Court judges are John A. Vavra and Frank A. Fregiato.

For the Common Pleas Court Judge Juvenile Division seat, J. Mark Costine is running unopposed. All three of these candidates are from St. Clairsville.

Democratic Mark A. Thomas, of St. Clairsville, and Republican Peter C. Bendo, of Bethesda, filed for the position of Belmont County Commissioner.

For Belmont County Auditor, Democratic incumbent Andrew L. Sutak will be running unopposed, as will Republican nominee Daniel P. Fry for the seat of Belmont County Prosecutor. Both candidates are from Martins Ferry.

Seven issues will appear on the ballot this election across the county.

These issues include the Bellaire Schools levy, the Eastern Ohio Regional Transit Authority (EORTA) levy, the Shadyside Electric Aggregate, the Bethesda Fire Levy, the Pease Township Outside Levy, the Union Local School Income Tax Levy, and the Yorkville Electric Aggregate, which is an overlap issue also concerning Jefferson County.

Scott can be reached at