Bellaire schools hire new treasurer

BELLAIRE — Darren Jenkins was hired by the Bellaire Board of Education during its regular board meeting here Monday to be the new treasurer of the school district, effective Aug. 1. He will work on a per diem basis from June 1 through July 31.

The board also approved the resignation of Kevin Reed as music teacher and band director effective May 31.

The board also recognized students during the “Parade of Champions.” Champions from the elementary school were Collin Snider, Alyson Vingia, Hayden Scott, Brenna Banal, Noah Crumm, Leah Williams, Terrin Frazier, Katelynn Gray, Steven Street and Ryley Wright.

Parade of Champion students from the middle school were Madison Beckett, Cody Myers, Katrina Davis, Austen Angus, Hunter Kidd, Cole Runyan, Jenna Sawinski and Nic Barnes.

High school students recognized were Brea Spears, Cody Guthrie, Mathilde Muzard, Christina Iwerson, Wally Holmes, Spencer Badia, Amy Mehlman and Brandon Givens.

The board also took time to appreciate some of the student art work from the high school that was displayed at the 2014 Belmont County Art Show, including many pieces that won awards.

The art students were introduced by art teacher Marion Stolz who spoke of the importance of art as an education elective that requires critical thinking and problem solving.

“Unfortunately, the way we are going in education with all this testing everybody wants an answer. Well, in art there are hundreds of them,” she said. “Every kid should have his or her own version. It should be their version because everybody is unique as an individual and they are going to think differently. So when they come up with an idea, they should be able to express that idea in a different way.”

Art students who participated in the art show were: Sydney Badia, Krysila Baratie, Maysi Bologna, Kaitlyn Callarik, Devan Crowder, Tori Duffy, Marisa Fillinger, Isaiah Harris, Jacob Mounsey, Mathilde Muzard, Markiah Peltz, Skyler Price, Taylor Price, Andrew Reed, Sarah Smith, Emily Street, Rachelle Thomas and Cheyenne Westlake.

Thomas won first and second place for the Teacher’s Choice Awards while Crowder took third and fourth. Muzard won fifth place.

In overall best of show categories, Muzard won first for photography. Emily Street took a fourth place award and Crowder won fifth in the mixed media category. Crowder also won a fourth place ribbon in the 3-dimensional category. Thomas got a fifth place award in the painting category.

Badia, Bologna, Callarik, Mounsey, Taylor Price, Reed and Thomas also received merit awards.

In other news, the board approved 1-year limited contracts to Pam Carpenter, Nikki Papola and Cheryl Wallace as the elemenary school teachers. Board President Michael Wallace abstained from the vote. The board then approved 1-year contracts for middle school teacher Suzan Homer and Bruce Young, high school teacher.

Approved for 1-year contracts as certified staff were: Chrissy Stack, Dawna Westlake, Joe Bell, Ashley Farrier, Kyle Brehm, Emily Lewis, Paige Maffe, Justin Myers, Natalie Murray and Pamela McGrath.

Approved under continuing contracts were fiscal assistants Cathy Moore and Steve Dulesky.

Under the supplemental contracts, Molly Feller was approved as athletic director; Chris Arno head cross country coach; Marci Quirk head girls basketball coach; JR Battista head boys basketball coach; Amy Games varsity cheerleading coach and Forrest Merryman equipment manager.

The next regular board meeting is scheduled for June 9 at 6 p.m. in the board office.