| || |
October 21, 2013 - Shaunna Dunder Hershberger
I'm still trying to figure out what was so "controversial" about the penalty called on New England in overtime of their game with the Jets yesterday. Television and internet sports outlets would have you believe the Patriots got robbed.
Well, I guess if you consider the penalty call resulted in the Jets getting a second chance at a game-winning field goal, then, yeah, I guess Bill Belichick and his sweatshirt have a reason to belly ache about it.
Here's what happened in case you missed it. The Jets lined up for a 56-yard field goal attempt, which the kicker missed. However, New England was flagged for unsportsmanlike conduct for pushing a teammate into the offensive formation. That's 15 yards and another shot at a field goal for New York, who, consequently, sailed the next attempt through the uprights for a win over their division rival.
A new rule instated this offseason says it's a penalty when, in a field goal or kicking formation, a player pushes a teammate on the line of scrimmage into the offensive formation. The new rule is legitimate but has not yet been called. Until Sunday.
Watch the replay. New England defensive tackle Chris Jones quite clearly shoves his teammate, who is set up on the line of scrimmage, into the formation. In addition, the official with a bird's eye view of the whole thing threw a penalty flag immediately. If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck.....
Obviously, Rex Ryan was quite pleased, claiming later in the press conference that he was glad "something finally went their way," as if the Jets were entitled to an extra penalty call in their favor. Belichick, on the other hand, doesn't think it was a penalty.
Aside from the bad blood that's existed between the Patriots and Jets the last few years (remember, the Jets were the ones who tattled to the league about New England's Great Video Taping Incident of 2007), I still don't see anything controversial about this call. Yeah, maybe it was the first time it was called. Big deal. It wasn't the Super Bowl. Don't want a penalty called on you? Then don't break the rules!
Seems the Patriots have short memories about controversial calls. Tuck rule, anyone?
Post a Comment