Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

College News

February 9, 2010
Times Leader

KENT STATE University had a total of 6277 students named to the Dean's List for superior academic achievement during the Fall semester. To be on the dean's list a student must achieve a grade point avereage of 3.40 or greater and have completed 12 or more letter-graded credit hours. Of the students named to the Dean's List, 488 were also named to the President's List, which a student must have an average in the semester of 4.00 and completed 15 or more letter-graded credit hours by the end of the semester. The students in in our area are listed as follows:

Dean's List

Belmont County: Barnesville - Thomas Atkinson, Randall Hunter, Courtney Mcconnell; Martins Ferry - Kevin Lude; Shadyside - Brady Bickmeier, Wynter Zdunczyk; St. Clairsville - Alanna Seamon, Christina Seamon, Lindsay Skiba, Tessa Young, Robert Zatezalo.

Harrison County: Cadiz - Razille Daguplo, Alex Heavilin, Kallie Telfer; Freeport - Jennifer Simmerman; Jewett - William Dray; Scio - Joshua Bumgardner.

Jefferson County: Adena - Katherine Horkey; Amsterdam - Amy Mader, Jeremy Matics, Sara Schultz, Andrew Stine; Bloomingdale - Megan Antigo, Jamie Reducha; Dillonvale - Jeffrey Lengyel.

Monroe County: Beallsville - Adam Kanzigg

President's List

Bloomingdale - Elizabeth Brenda

Scio - Timothy Rose

KELSIE BAHMER was recently named to the Ohio Wesleyan University dean's list. She is a graduate of Barnesville High School and is the daughter of Nelson L. Bahmer and Patty A. Bahmer.

Erica Jenkins, a junior pharmacy major, performed in The University of Findlay's annual Triage Theatre production, which is produced by UF's honorary theater fraternity, Alpha Psi Omega.

A 2007 graduate of The Linsly School, Jenkins is the daughter of Patsy and Eric Jenkins, 47601 Meadow View Dr., St. Clairsville.

On campus, Jenkins is active in chemistry club, Kappa Epsilon, Habitat for Humanity, Campus Program Board and has been named to the Dean's list.

The performance was held Jan. 16, in the university's John and Hester Powell Grimm Theatre. Jenkins performed in the play "Porky's Nightmare."

Twenty-four hours prior to the performance, groups of between five and six students were given a theme, which changes each year and was not revealed to anyone prior to Friday evening. The theme was chosen by theater faculty and staff members.

Once the theme was announced, a playwright was chosen from each group, and the playwright worked through the night to complete a 10-minute scene.

By 10 a.m. Saturday morning, all participants returned to the theater to learn their parts and rehearse together. Actors had until 7 p.m. to learn their lines and stage the scenes. Each group was given a time slot to practice on stage and work on technical aspects such as lighting and sound cues.

The University of Findlay is a comprehensive university with a hands-on approach to learning located in Findlay, Ohio, approximately 45 miles south of Toledo. With a total enrollment of approximately 4,100 full-time and part-time students from 40 states and approximately 25 countries and territories, The University of Findlay is noted for its innovative, career-oriented programs in more than 60 majors and nine graduate and professional degrees. Founded more than 125 years ago, the university has a tradition of academic excellence. For more information, call 1-800-472-9502.

THE OHIO State University Honor Roll Report for the Autumn Quarter of 2009 is as follows:

Belmont County: Barnesville - Veronika Gordeeva, Adam Gossett, Matthew Hurley, Eric Kemp, Courtney Lashley, Jordan Lewis, Abby McClelland, Emily Jo Rockwell, Stephan Schmidt, Ashley Shumaker; Belmont - Kesley Jarrett; Bethesda - Christopher Crawford, Carmen Dalton, Melissa Vannest; Bellaire - Nicholas Taflan, Timmy Young; Bridgeport - Jared Hatcher, Ross Jackson; Martins Ferry - Aaron Ewing, Luca Magistro; Maynard - Joseph Steiner; Neffs - Aaron Porter; Powhatan Point - Troy Starr; Rayland - Ryan Kroflich; Shadyside - Lyle Burkhardt, Joshua Meek, Teddi Stupak, Alicia Yonyon; St. Clairsville - Jonathan Bosold, Anne Campbell, Mary Cash, Casey Cross, Jessica Evick, Natalie Fox, Bradley Schrum, Matthew Roten, Shane Antolak, Michael Bigelow, Kathryn Davison, Brett Holubeck, Zachary Kozel, Amanda McCabe, Eric Neuenschwander, Caitlin Pickenpaugh, Sommer Shutek, Stephanie Skatula, Charles Sulek, Charles Bishop, Joseph Depalma, Phil Gross, Beth Schroeder, Juliana Sowinski.

Harrison County: Cadiz - Dirk Chisnell, Carolyn Kirkland; Freeport - Benjamin Fair; Bowerston - Clinton Daugherty, Morgan Lloyd; Tippecanoe - Colleen Maleski.

Jefferson County: Bloomingdale - Ryan Houk, Sarah Lawrence, Sarah Roy; Brilliant - Nathan Bettineschi; Dillonvale - Kaila Dolfi; Irondale - Katelyn Dipasquale; Mingo Junction - Jessica Dickey, Justin Glasgow, Bradley Jeffries, Daniel Pierce, Megan Pierce, Mason Pierce; Mt. Pleasant - Joseph Lollini; Rayland - Brandon Boring, Megan McKim, Amy Molnar, Lindsay Molnar; Richmond - Nicole Bell, Angela Bell, Derek Bozica, Angela Viltro; Steubenville - Patrick Bortz, Shari Thomas, Michael Aperfine, Caitlin Criss, Shawn Hall, Corey Olmstead, Jael Pitts; Wintersville - Kristen Banfield, Christopher Gale, Cierra Gillison, Anisa Hassan, Meika Travis, Andrew Zapor; Tiltonsville - Tyler Adamson; Toronto - Marjorie Grafton.

Monroe County: Beallsville - Alyssa Swallow; Lewisville - Lindsey Blackstone; Woodsfield - Heather Miller, Zachary Ring, Nathaniel Schaber; Clarington - Casey Arman, Leah Gordon, Kelsey Krempasky; Graysville - Lindsay Huntsman

Kaplan University celebrated the graduation of its winter 2010 class during a live ceremony on Jan. 30 in Miami, Fla. General Colin L. Powell, the 65th Secretary of State and former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, served as the commencement speaker. The following local students were awarded degrees:

Kimberly S. Cain of Uhrichsville was awarded a bachelor of science in business administration.

Brian Humphrey of Wheeling was awarded a bachelor of science in business administration.

Kara Markle of Wheeling was awarded a associate of applied science in health sciences.

Deborah Rudolph of Mingo Junction was awarded a certificate in paralegal studies.

"You can improve yourselves using the incredible power of this revolution [in online education] It's how Kaplan University has grown and continues to grow. This revolution will speed through this country because of its effectiveness and power," Gen. Powell told the graduates during the ceremony at the James L. Knight International Center in Miami. "Today celebrate your achievements; tomorrow get back online and determine what you are going to do next."

The Kaplan University winter 2010 class of more than 3,300 students earned their associate's, bachelor's and master's degrees as well as professional certificates completely online. Many of them traveled from around the country and the world to attend the ceremony, meeting face-to-face for the first time.

Sarah L. Webster, daughter of William and Linda Webster, 21 S 10th St, Martins Ferry, has been named to the Ohio Northern Pettit College of Law deans' list for the fall semester 2009-10. She is a law year majoring in law.

The deans' list includes students who attain a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 grading system.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web