Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Senior volunteers honored for service

May 19, 2011
Times Leader

WEIRTON - The Brooke-Hancock-Ohio Retired and Senior Volunteer Program held its 38th annual Volunteer Recognition Event on Thursday, April 28, 2011, at the Millsop Community Center. RSVP Director, Angela Kocher, said, The annual Volunteer Recognition Luncheon is held to honor our volunteers and acknowledge the outstanding contributions they make to the people and nonprofit agencies throughout Brooke, Hancock, Ohio and Marshall Counties. RSVP volunteers serve all age groups by sharing their time and the talents they have developed over a lifetime of experience.

The luncheon was emceed by Jeannette Meriwether, Retired Activities Director/Coordinator Brooke County & Greater Weirton Senior Center and RSVP Volunteer. Guest speaker was LTC John Shaw, Retired Afghanistan Veteran. Lunch was catered by Connie's Corner from Chester WV. Special guests included, Senator Orphy Klempa who presented Senators Certificate of Recognition, Delegate Tim R. Ennis and Roy Givens presented Legislative Citation. Kris Yost represented Senator Yost, Flynn Altmeyer, Aide to Congressman presented Lifetime Presidential Award on behalf of David McKinley. Michelle Figaretti, Regional Representative presented Governor Earl Ray Tomblin Recognition. Kristin Cross, Field Representative presented State Auditor Glen B. Gainer III Recognition Certificate. Vicki Staffelino presented Donna Weaver 2010 Service Award. Pastor Larry Garrison gave invocation and Benediction. Special guest in attendance were:

Reba Crossen, AmeriCorp VISTA Project Director, United Way of Charleston, Jeff Davis Hancock County Commissioner, Mrs. Norma Tarr, Brooke County Commissioner, Mr. Blackwell, New Cumberland City Council.

Article Photos

Photo Provided
The following volunteers were awarded for more than 4,000 hours of service by the The Brooke-Hancock-Ohio Retired and Senior Volunteer Program. Front row left to right Glynda Marie Walker, Jacqueline Rae Tate, Pat Farley, Gary Riggs, Ann Niciforos and Paul “Bud” Billard. Back, from left: Michelle Figaretti regional representative for Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin; Flynn Altmeyer, aid toU.S. Rep.David Mc Kinley; Kristin Cross, field rep. for state Auditor Glenn B. Gainer III; Kris Yost representing her husband,state Sen. Jack Yost; state Sen.Orphy Klempa; and state Dels. Roy E. Givens and Tim Ennis.

Mrs. Kocher noted that the Brooke-Hancock-Ohio County RSVP Program began their 38th year of operation in February, 2010. Nationwide, RSVP celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2011.


Lifetime Presidential Service Award (4,000+) Hours

Paul Billiard, Pat Farley, Ann Niciforos, Gary Riggs, Jaqueline Rae Tate, Glynda M. Walker.

Gold Presidential Award (500+) Hours

Patricia Accettolo, Edward Arbogast, Irene Arbogast, Beth DiGregorio, Gloria Foster, Nancy Lash, Thomas Lash, Carol Lynn, Madeline McDevitt, Diana Mendel, Delores Proakis, Jan T. Reed, Marty Smith, Maggie Stewart.

Silver Presidential Award (250+) Hours

Janet Benzo, Norman Jean Bondi, Kenneth J. Carey, Loretta Ceccarelli, Sharlee A. DeMaria, Eleanor Elliott, Ruth Ellen Fise, Kathy Gallagher, Kathy Gill, Jean Hitzfield, JoAnn Kerr, William Kocher, Donna Lauck, Evelyn McMasters, Nicki Melissinos, Jeanette Meriweather, Dorothy O'Neal, Danny Peacemaker, June Puskarich, Katy Rosohac, Gerry Taibi, Emma Kay Weimer, Mabel Winesburg, Ruth Zirkle.

Bronze Presidential Award (100+) Hours

Ella M.Bartungl, Anna E. Berardi, James W. Brooks, Clara Call, Connie Davis, James DeMaria Sr., Patricia Goldsmith, Pat Hensley, Sylvia Hornak, Jean A. Irving, Carol Jackson, Robert Lee Johnson, David W. Kruth, Donna Lyons, Domenica Malloy, Barbara McCoy, Mary Robbins, Patricia Robinson, Judy Sargus, Mark Tennant, Vicki Tomich, Beckey Weigand, Elizabeth Williamson, Susana Wilson

Volunteer Years of Service Awards

20-year recipients

Evelyn Alleman, Carolyn Birkhimer, Geraldine Snodgrass,

15-year recipients

Dolores Antigo, Frances Cunningham, Sandy Myrtle

10-year recipients

Patriia Accettolo, Sarah Debnar, Frances Eafrati, Lenna Fedoush, Margaret Patton, Koriene Price, Bonnie Pugh, Dorothy Saffle, Charlene Soplinski, Peg Sweeney, Mary Tennant.atherine Vidich.

5-year recipients

Terry DeAngelis, Martha Gonzales, Beverly Hillyard, John Jonczak, Mary J. Kirsch, Gerald Long, Al Mandy, Jeannie Marcott, Darrell Mason Patricia McCreaery, Lucille A. Miller, Helen Moren, Ronald C. Penrod, Gloria S. Randour, Margaret Rojak, Robert T. Schramm, Della Westfall, Myral Wojcicki.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web