OHSAA?golf sectional set to get under way

The first Ohio High School Athletic Association fall sports tournament commences this week around the Buckeye State.

The quest to be a state golf champion begins as two divisions open sectional tournament play. Division I’s march to the state tournament gets under way on Oct. 1.

For Divisions II and III, the three-week tournament begins in the Eastern District at River Greens and Willandale Golf Club on Monday and Tuesday, respectively.

The Division II state golf tournament shifts back to Columbus this year and will be held on the Ohio State University’s Scarlet Golf Course. The Division II, which was held at OSU last season, shifts to the Northstar Golf Resort in Sunbury, which hosted the Division II Tournament.

In Division II, 23 schools will battle for the right to advance to the district tournament.

River Greens Golf Course, which is located in West Lafayette, is a par 72 layout. The sectional features tee times rather than a shotgun start, which is how most prep tournaments are ran.

In the field at River Green are: Beaver Local, Buckeye Local, Claymont, Coshocton, East Liverpool, Edison, Harrison Central, Indian Creek, Indian Valley, John Glenn, Martins Ferry, Maysville, Meadowbrook, Minerva, Morgan, Philo, River View, Sandy Valley, St. Clairsville, Steubenville, Tuscarawas Valley, Union Local and West Muskingum.

The top six teams and then six individuals, who aren’t on those qualifying teams, will punch their ticket to the district tournament.

The district, which will be held on Oct. 3, is slated for the Granville Golf Club. At that level, two teams and two individuals – not on qualifying teams – will advance to the state tournament.

St. Clairsville is the defending district champion.

In Division III, the Willandale Golf Club, which is a par 72 course located in Sugercreek, will welcome 20 schools.

The field there includes: Barnesville, Beallsville, Bellaire, Bishop Rosecrans, Bridgeport, Buckeye Trail, Steubenville Catholic Central, Conotton Valley, Fort Frye, Garaway, Hiland, Malvern, Monroe Central, Newcomerstown, Ridgewood, River, Shadyside, Strasburg, Toronto and Tuscarawas Central Catholic.

The top three teams and three individuals not on one of the teams will qualify for the district tournament, which will be held at the Cumberland Trails Golf Course in Pataskala on Oct. 2.

THE GIRLS’ SECTIONAL tournament will also be held at River Greens on Wednesday.

Slated to battle for one of the top five spots amongst teams and five individuals – not on teams – for the right to compete at the district tournament on Oct. 1 at Pickaway Country Club in Circleville are: Beaver Local, Rosecrans, Buckeye Trail, Carrollton, Claymont, Edison, Fort Frye, Garaway, Indian Valley, John Glenn, Martins Ferry, Maysville, Minerva, Monroe Central, Philo, Ridgewood, Sandy Valley, Strasburg, Tuscarawas Central Catholic and West Muskingum.