Local gridders earn all-Ohio

COLUMBUS – The immediate area was well represented on the Associated Press Division IV All-Ohio teams announced Tuesday evening.

All told, seven players were named to one of the top three teams and an area head coach was one of three coaches of the year.

The area delegation is led by the St. Clairsville Red Devils, who are preparing for Friday’s Division IV State Championship game at Canton’s Fawcett Stadium.

The Red Devils had four players named to the first two teams, including a trio of first-teamers. On top of that, head coach Brett McLean was named the state’s coach of the year as he’s guided the Devils to a 14-0 record thus far.

McLean in his 11th season at the helm was named Eastern District Coach of the Year earlier this month. Along the way to Stark County to its date with Clarksville Clinton-Massie, the Red Devils have claimed the Buckeye 8, OVAC Class 4A title and regional championship.

Last week, McLean guided the Red Devils past Creston Norwayne to the school’s first-ever trip to the state title game.

Ironically, one of the coaches that McLean shared the honor with is Norwayne’s Joe Harbour.

Three Red Devil players – Dan Monterso, Matt Kinnick and Michael Ferns – were all named to the first-team unit.

Monteroso, who was named the Eastern District’s Offensive Player of the Year, has been brilliant all season at wide receiver. He’s hauled in 59 passes for 1,340 yards and 17 touchdowns. He played arguably his best game as a Red Devil in last week’s semifinal when he caught 10 passes for 264 yards and three scores.

Kinnick was an all-Ohioan last season as a quarterback, but moved up to the first-team unit this season.

He’s thrown for 2,991 yards and 37 touchdowns this season.

He’s also ran for eight touchdowns.

Ferns was named to the first-team defensive unit as a linebacker. He’s a first-time honoree on the all-Ohio squad.

The Michigan recruit has produced yet another impressive season with well over 100 tackles for the season, which ranks second on the squad at St. C. He’s also a threat on the offensive side of the ball.

Junior tailback Jaylon Brown was named second-team all-state as a running back.

He’s scored nearly 40 touchdowns this season and has ran for better than 1,700 yards. He’s also got nearly 400 yards receiving in what’s been a break-out season.

Harrison Central had a pair of all-Ohio honorees. Leading the way for Coach Justin Kropka’s Huskies was senior linebacker Nick Pelegreen.

Pelegreen set the single-season and career record for tackles in Harrison Central history this season. He logged well over 130 stops in helping to guide the Huskies to their second-ever playoff berth.

He was also a standout on the offensive side of the ball at tight end.

Senior tailback Maurtice Hython was named to the third-team unit as a tailback.

Hython ran for more than 1,900 yards and scored 20 rushing touchdowns.

He also caught 17 passes for almost 250 yards.

Martins Ferry senior standout Cody Schau was named first-team all-Ohio as a defensive back.

He was the area’s leader in interceptions with eight during the regular season and was a sure tackler for Dave Bruney’s squad.

Schau was also the Riders’ big-play threat in the passing game, catching more than 50 passes for better than 800 yards.

The complete list of all-Ohio teams in Divisions III and IV can be found on Page B3.

The Division V and VI teams are announced this evening at approximately 6:30 p.m.