Eaton, Baker win gold at OVAC Swimming

STEUBENVILLE – The OVAC Swimming Bill Brubaker Championship was held Saturday in the Steubenville High School Natatorium.

Brubaker, head coach for the Linsly swim team was surprised before the meet with a plaque and the announcement from Thomas E. Rataiczak, Executive Secretary of the OVAC that the meet would from this day forth be named for the long time Cadet mentor.

It was no surprise, however, that both his boys’ and girls’ teams he coached easily won their respective OVAC small school titles.

The Lady Cadets would roll up 173 points finishing ahead of second-place Barnesville with 107 team points.

The Linsly boys won the small school and open title with 394 points, Steubenville Catholic Central finished a distant second with 46 points.

Morgantown won the big school and open title for girls with 342 points. Wheeling Park finished second place with 255, Brooke was third with 180.5 and Martins Ferry finished fourth with 155 team points.

Parkersburg South claimed the boys’ big school gold with 337 points followed by Morgantown in runner-up position with 255 while St. Claitrsville missed the medal round with a 197 total finishing in third place.

St. Clairsville junior Michael Eaton led local swimmers, setting two new pool and meet records en route to a repeat gold performance.

The first he earned sprinting a 22.42 in his 50 yard leg of the 200 Freestyle Relay to lead the Red Devils’ team to a second place finish in the event. He was joined on the squad by Nick Tobin, Dan Kennon and Quentin Clark.

The second record swim was not his personal best, but broke the pool and OVAC meet records with a 59.90 in the 100 breaststroke to garner a gold. He also won the 100 yard freestyle for his second gold medal. He touched the wall with a victorious time of 49.62.

The Red Devils’ team made up Eaton, Codi Eaton, Kennon and Tobin also won a silver in the 200 Individual Medley with a time of 1:51.12. The Devils’ team of Tobin, Codi Eaton, D.J. Beck and Kennon was fifth in 3:58.64 in the 400 free relay.

Barnesville’s Christopher Baker successfully defended his 500 freestyle title. He swam 20 laps in a solid time of 5:12.04 to take the gold.

In the 200 IM, Baker touched the wall just after Linsly’s Drew Bastian to settle for a silver. Bastain recorded a 2:05.31, while Baker posted 2:06.67.

St. Clairsville’s girls won a bronze in the 200 freestyle relay. The team was comprised of Carly Falcone, Alaina Fasola, Delainey Banks and Fallon Weidman.

Falcone also won an individual bronze in the 100 breaststroke for the Red Devils with a time of 1:15.53. She was also fifth in the 200 IM

East Richland Christian’s Katie Albert finished second behind Wheeling Park’s Cecelia Jebbia with a 2.07.71 time for the silver medal in the 200 freestyle. She earned a bronze in the 50 freestyle, posting a time of 26.98.

Tara Fogle just missed the podium with a fourth place finish in the 100 butterfly for Martins Ferry in a time of 1:09.85.

The Lady Riders’ 400 free relay team of Fogle, Tyesha Allen, Shannon Lewis and Shelby Poludniak finished fifth in the 400 freestyle with a 4:12.89.

The same foursome swam a 2:06.30 to finish fourth in the 200 medley relay.

Linsly’s strong effort got out of the gates quickly when the team of Bastian, Chris Reardon, Zach Hamm and Reese Boyd teamed for gold in the 200 medley relay in a time of 1:46.22.

Cameron Thompson claimed the 200 freestyle with a 1:50.31, while Liam McNeil won the 50 freestyle in 23.29. Hamm got his first individual gold in the 100 fly when he posted a pool-record time of 54.89. He came back with a 57.46 to win the 100 backstroke.

Linsly’s quartet of Bastain, Reardon, Hamm and Thompson posted a meet-record time of 1:33.87 to win the 200 freestyle relay, edging the Devils’ foursome out. The team of Boyd, Marc Gittings, Liam McNeil and Cameron Thompson swam a 3:35.72 to win the 400 free relay.

Linsly’s girls winners included: Zoe Scarpone, who won the 200 IM in 2:14.82 and the 100 fly in 1:02.12.

Linsly’s team of Samantha Schaal, Scarpone, Brie Weimer and Eve Scarpone posted a 1:49.94 to win the 200 free relay.

Other girls’ champions crowned were: John Marshall’s Jade Worrels, who won the 50-freestyle in 26.12; Park’s Jebbia also claimed the 100 freestyle in 55.90; Brooke’s Jessie Wayne, who won the 500 free in 5:43.65; Morgantown’s Ileana Ille, who won the 100 backstroke in 1:04.26; Park’s Katlyn Curnes claimed the 100 breaststroke with a meet-record time of 1:09.49

Park’s 400 freestyle relay team of Emilee Heilman, Cristin Dolan, Curnes and Jebbia posted a 3:56.24 to cruise to victory in the 400 free relay. The 200 medley squad of Heilman, Curnes, Jebbia and Dolan swam a pool-record time of 1:58.81.

The Ohio-side swimmers will return to the natatorium next weekend as Steubenville will host the OHSAA swimming sectionals next weekend.

Palmer can be reached at