OVAC All-Star hoops rosters announced

Just a handful of Ohio Valley Athletic Conference members are still practicing basketball as we head into the middle of March.

There’s still basketball to look forward to, however.

The annual Samuel A. Mumley OVAC All-Star Classic will be held on Sunday, April 7 at Ohio University Eastern in St. Clairsville as the Class of 2013 hoop stars get one last chance to shine.

The rosters have been finalized and feature 60 of the premier senior players in the entire OVAC, representing both Ohio and West Virginia.

OVAC All-Star Game Director Tom “Bear” Bechtel made the rosters public today after the online voting period for the coaches was held late last month.

THE BOYS’ GAME could be one of the more entertaining matchups in quite some time.

St. Clairsville’s Kim Clifford, who has his Red Devils in this week’s Division II regional, has been voted the head coach of the Buckeye State. He’ll be assisted by Indian Creek’s Joe Dunlevy.

No fewer than six 1,000-plus point scorers dot the Ohio roster. Leading the way is St. C.’s Dan Monteroso, who currently has 2,321 points in his career and is coming off a 40-point outburst in the Red Devils’ tournament victory last Thursday.

Martins Ferry’s Cody Schau, who is the leading scorer in the area this winter, is also on the squad. Beallsville’s Teryn Jarrett, Harrison Central’s Fletcher Watt, Conotton Valley’s Brandon Bailey, Cambridge’s Kyle Ritz and River’s Brett Price have all scored points in bunches for their respective clubs this season.

St. Clairsville, Harrison Central and Indian Creek are the only three schools with multiple players on the team. Joining Monteroso is point guard Riley Carlton. Harrison Central’s Nick Pelegreen will roam on the interior, while Creek’s Alex Young and Frank Kamarec were also chosen.

Union Local’s Jacob Bailey was voted onto the team, but due to a knee injury he won’t be able to play.

The balance of the Ohio squad consists of: Steubenville Catholic Central’s Zach Herrington, Buckeye Local’s Kyle Michalo, Monroe Central’s Korey Lafferre and Steubenville’s Periogn West.

The West Virginia squad will be coached by a pair of newcomers to the OVAC. Morgantown’s Tom Yester and Clay-Battelle’s Josh Kisner will guide the Mountain State squad. Yester, who has his Mohigans in this week’s West Virginia State Tournament, is the head coach.

The Mohigans had three players chosen for the game, including West Virginia University signee Nathan Adrian, but his status is unknown still because of an injury. He’ll be joined by Austin Agnew and Dean Marshall.

Magnolia’s all-time leading scorer, Mark Winters, was the lone Blue Eagles’ representative chosen. OVAC Class 5A champion Parkersburg South had two players earn a spot, including Wes Mitchem and Doug Dennis.

Brooke also had two players, Eric Johnson and Hunter Wallace, voted into the game.

The balance of the Mountain State roster is comprised of: Darren Heintzman (Tyler), Cody Triplett (Trinity), Travis Tomer (University), Mark Walker (Cameron), Anthony Ghiardi (Trinity), Cody Howell (Oak Glen), Evan Magers (John Marshall), Logan Opyoke (Clay-Battelle) and Brandon Wallace (Wheeling Central).

THE GIRLS’ ROSTERS for their game, which will tip off at 3 p.m., are also loaded with scorers.

Ohio will be coached by River High’s Rick Isaly and he’ll be aided by Bridgeport’s Rob Zitzelsberger.

Fort Frye, which advanced to the Division III regional final this weekend, had its three senior leaders chosen for the game, including Diedra Combs, Morgan Liedtke and Taylor Buchanan.

Shadyside’s dynamic senior duo of Karli Bonar, the state of Ohio’s all-time 3-point shooter, and Hayley Holenka both will take part in the game.

Beallsville landed two players on the squad. Madison Stephen and Katie Kinney will wear the Lady Blue Devils’ uniform one more time. Monroe Central also had a pair of players chosen. Those being Chelsie Roberts and Chelsie Tewanger.

The balance of the roster includes: Dallas Montag (Union Local), Kristen Russell (St. John), Molly McCoy (Edison), Cassidy McCullough (River), Mallory Taylor (Cambridge), Jessica Kinney (Martins Ferry) and Kayla Fillipovich (Buckeye Local), who won’t be able to play due to injury.

THE WEST VIRGINIA girls’ squad will be guided by John Marshall’s Mark McCormick and Morgantown’s Adam Henkins.

The squad will include two of the most impressive duos to every suit up in Ohio County in Robert Morris signee Emily Puskarich and Hayley Robb, representing Wheeling Park. The Wheeling Central duo of Colleen McCormick and Emily Bucon will also play their final prep game together.

Morgantown, which advanced to the West Virginia state tournament this weekend, had Caroline Colombo and Leah Taylor chosen for the team. John Marshall’s duo of Kylie Howard and Kristin Lewicki was also selected after impressive campaigns.

University, which won the Class 5A girls’ crown last month, will be represented by Kayla Boggs and Hayley Harrison.

The balance of the W.Va. squad includes: Nicolette Sellitti (Madonna), Makayla Wilkins (Clay-Battelle), Breann Dean (Clay-Battelle), Shelva Burns (Weir) and Neely Benline (Cameron).

Along with the game, the players will be honored at a pre-game brunch at Undo’s West in St. Clairsville. There will also be several special presentations of awards passed out during the course of the games.

There will also be a 3-point shootout held at halftime of both the boys’ and girls’ games.

Staskey can be reached at sstaskey@timesleaderonline.com