Ferry girls, Big Red boys win

MARTINS FERRY – For the first time in the short history of the Riesbeck’s Martins Ferry Relays, Mother Nature was more than cooperative.

The results of ideal conditions Tuesday evening resulted in several impressive performances.

However, the most impressive performances lied with the host Lady Purple Riders, who racked up 106 points to outdistance the field, including runner-up Weir, which had 59.

Steubenville Big Red edged out the host Riders by eight for the boys’ title. Steubenville finished with 86 points, while the Purple finished with78 tallies.

The meet is a relay style meet, meaning there are only individual points scored in four events. All of the field events are added up by school to determine the winning team.

The Martins Ferry girls’ squad got things started when the team of Brenna Becca, Jamie Truchan, Lindsay Cunningham and Sunshine Wrenn posted a 10:34.30 to win the 4×800 relay.

The Lady Riders captured two individual events as well.

Junior speedster Taylr Jenkins won the 100 in 12.91 and frosh standout Tyesha Allen claimed the 300 low hurdles in 49.58.

Also on the track, the Lady Riders’ team of Sarah Applegarth, Dionna Lee, Jenkins and Wrenn turned in a 1:56.15 to win the sprint medley relay, which consists of two 100 meter dashes, a 200 meter sprint and a 400 meter dash.

The Lady Purple’s strength in hurdles showed when the team of Allen, Courtney Crolley, Ashley Griffith and Nikki Allen prevailed with a time of 67.80.

In the field, Martins Ferry claimed the long jump relay with a combined mark of 43-ft-10, the pole vault relay with a combined height of 25-feet and the girls’ high jump with a 13-feet clearance.

St. Clairsville’s distance foursome of Shae Cenkus, Juliana Madzia, Amy Castle and Mikayla Westlake posted a 14:05.57 to win the distance medley relay, which consists of a 1200-meter leg, an 800-meter leg, a 400-meter leg and a 1600-meter leg.

St. John Central’s lone victory came in the discus relay with an added-up total of 265-ft-10.

Shadyside senior standout Tara Tollett prevailed by nearly 10 full seconds in the 1600 meter run. She posted a 5:29.14, establishing a new meet record time.

Steubenville’s Elise Watts was impressive in winning the 100 meter high hurdles in a time of 16.21.

Steubenville Central’s Michaela Gotta, Kara Kakascik, Hannah Ondus and Monica Rigaud teamed for a solid 4:15.26 to win the 4×4 in a tight race against St. John Central.

THE BIG RED boys squad was fueled to their victory by three wins.

Individually, Robert Hayden claimed the 100 meter dash in 11.16.

In the 800 sprint medley, Steubenville used a strong anchor leg by JaQuan Lavender to track down Martins Ferry in the final 400 meters. Lavender was joined by Perrier Coleman, Hayden and Michael Jett. The foursome posted a 1:38.29.

Big Red’s shuttle team of Joey Nodianos, Garon Lytle, Michael Diaz and Oko Anyabwile ran a solid 61.79 to prevail.

The runner-up Riders’ lone victory on the track came in the 4×4 when the solid team of Jack Fitch, Brian Styles, Andrew Watts and Hunter Hill posted a 3:38.32 to prevail.

With senior thrower Sean McGee leading the way, Ferry claimed the discus (378-ft-9) and shot put (132-ft-8 3/4) relay titles.

Harrison Central finished third in the team standings. The Huskies were led by an individual victory of Terrence Lindsey in the 300 hurdles with a time of 42.76.

The Huskies also posted a victory in the high jump relay at 15-ft-6.

St. Clairsville was fourth overall and it was led by frosh Logan McCort, who captured the title in the 1600 meter run in 4:58.95.

The Red Devils also posted a victory in the pole vault relay with a clearance of 35-ft-6.

Steubenville Central senior Doug Maslowski put forth the most impressive performance of the evening. He claimed the 110 high hurdles in a meet and stadium record time of 14.28.

The Crusaders’ foursome of John-Paul Dombrowski, Logan Hunt, Isaac Sandford and Anthony Lee teamed to win the 4×8 in 9:08.75.

St. John’s lone victory came in the distance medley relay. The unit of Corey Leasure, Garrett Holubeck, Kyle Whorton and Aaron Ebbert ran an 11:55.00 to prevail.

Staskey can be reached at sstaskey@timesleader-online.com