Area runners set to pursue state meet

Hebron will be on the minds of area cross country runners Saturday morning as they step up to the starting line for the Ohio regional championships in Pickerington.

District qualifiers from last week’s Eastern District meet in Cambridge will run at North High School starting at 11 a.m. with the Division III girls. Division II girls will follow at 11:45 p.m., with Division III boys and Division II boys competing at 1:30 p.m. and 2:15 p.m., respectively.

The top 4 teams and 16 individuals not competing on a qualifying team will advance to next Saturday’s state championship meet at National Trail Raceway.

Belmont County will be heavily represented, especially in Division III girls.

For the seventh time in school history, Bellaire’s girls made the team field. Coach Chris Arno’s squad finished fourth last week behind Fort Frye, Caldwell and district champion Garaway.

Joining those four teams at the regional will be the following schools – Columbus South, Mount Gilead, Columbus Academy, Grandview Heights, Trimble, Adena, South Webster, Sardenia Eastern, Reedsville Eastern, Manchester, White Oak and Paint Valley.

The Big Reds secured their regional ticket behind freshman sensation Taylor Stoner, who finished 10th last week with a time of 20:39. Her sister, Danielle, a junior, also finished in the top 16, with a time of 20:52.

Rounding out the Bellaire contingent are freshman Shaye Beckett, Rylie Purtiman and Sarah McAnich and juniors Dallas Messenger and Lesley Bendekovich.

St. John Central’s Fallon Doyle will continue her quest for her third consecutive all-Ohio finish as she will represent the Irish as one of two local individuals in the race. She advanced by finishing second last week with a time of 19:02.

Shadyside sophomore McKayla Kinemond nabbed the final individual slot by finishing 16th with a time of 21:09.

Strasburg’s Amanda King and Talena Stern were the other individual runners to advance out of Cambridge.

Division III Boys

St. John’s boys were the fourth and final qualifying team out of the Cambridge district, joining Caldwell, Fort Frye and champion Garaway.

Leading the way for the Irish are seniors Aaron Ebbert (18:11), Garrett Holubeck (18:29) and David Goclan (18:29), who finished 23rd-25th last week, respectively.

Junior Sean Clemons and sophomore Austin Morris round out the St. John roster.

Other competing teams include – Fredericktown, Mount Gilead, Fairfield Christian, Columbus Academy, Fairfield, Sardenia Eastern, West Union, Crooksville, Belpre, Lynchburg-Clay, Dawson-Bryant and Wheelersburg.

Division II Girls

Martins Ferry’s Jamie Truchan will represent the area in the race. She finished ninth in one of the district meets with a time of 20:16.

Other individual qualifiers out of Cambridge are Cambridge’s Elizabeth Phillips and West Muskingum’s Madison Paul and Lauren Paul.

Teams competing from the East District are – Carrollton, West Holmes, Morgan, Sandy Valley, Dover, Claymont, Indian Valley, John Glenn, Athens, Sheridan, Gallia Academy, Alexander, Zane Trace, Unioto, Fairfield Union and Fairland.

Division II Boys

A trio from St. Clairsville and Martins Ferry are among the individuals eyeing a state berth in this race.

Representing the Red Devils are senior Alex Timko, sophomore Logan McCort and freshman Kevin Simpson. The three were ninth (17:22), fifth (17:15) and 11th (17:25) in the District 1 race

Jacob Bishop, a freshman for the Purple Riders, was third (17:14) in the same event.

Other individuals qualifiers from the Cambridge districts are John Glenn’s Ryan Fahey, Maysville’s Connor Wright, Meadowbrook’s Brett Bell, Minerva’s Duncan Freeland and Morgan’s Trace Schaad.

Teams representing the districts are Indian Creek, River View, Dover, Claymont, Sandy Valley, West Holmes, Indian Valley and Carrollton. Also running will be Athens, Unioto, Warren, Vinton County, Sheridan, Piketon, Fairfield Union and Zane Trace.