SJC’s Doyle finishes eighth in state CC

Fallon Doyle added to her already robust career resume Saturday morning with another all-Ohio finish at the State Cross Country Championships at Hebron’s National Trail Raceway.

The St. John Central junior finished eighth in the Division III race with a time of 19:06.53.

”I’m really happy with the race,” she said. ”It pretty much went almost as planned.”

Liberty Center junior Brittany Atkinson won the race going away with a time of 18:31.45. She was second last year.

Coldwater’s Christine Seas was second in 18:43.15, followed by Columbus Academy’s Julia Rizk 18:48.61 and last year’s winner, Coldwater’s Sarah Kanney in 18:51.13.

Garaway’s Rachel Wentworth was fifth (18:53.31), followed by St. Thomas Acquinas’ Athena Welsh (18:58.12) and Russia’s Emily Borchers (19:05.95).

”She was right with me and I stepped in front of her at the finish line,” Doyle said of Borchers.

Liberty Center won the team title. Gilmour Academy was second, while Coldwater was third.

For Doyle, it was her third top 11 finish in three years. She was third her freshman year and 11th last fall.

”I was happy with the time considering the conditions,” she said, noting a large portion of the course was muddy.

”The first mile I went out in about 5:50, which was about what I was aiming for.

”I was trying to stick with the second pack and that second mile I fell back a little bit.”

The top 10 featured only two seniors.

”I was really happy with the finish, considering the competition,” Doyle said.

Wauseon’s Taylor Vernot won the Division II girls’ title, with Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary winning the team trophy.

In the Division I girls’ race, Cincinnati St. Ursuline’s Annie Heffernan claimed the individual title, while Mason took team honors.

Division III boys’ team accolades went to McDonald, led by individual champ Bobby Johnson.

Defiance claimed the Division II boys’ championship. Sheridan’s Matt Bromley was the individual champion.

St. Xavier was the Division I boy’s team winner, with Boardman’s Mark Hadley claiming individual honors.

Thorp can be reached at