Allman, Quinn are 30th annual OVAC wrestlers of the year

The OVAC Wrestling Coaches Association recognizes the Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year at the end of every mat sport season.

Dr. Bill Welker, who conceived and initiated the award in 1988, chairs a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling dignitaries that selects the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Bill Hinegardner and Ron Mauck The Ohio representatives are Dick Wolf and Dr. Dan Doyle.

Today, the committee has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 30th Annual “OVAC West Virginia and Ohio Wrestlers of the Year.”

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year’s winners are Parkersburg South’s Justin Allman and Shadyside’s Greg Quinn.


–4-Time West Virginia AAA State Champion

–The 17th Four-Time State Titlist in West Virginia History

–Four-Time Regional Champion

–2014 Ron Mauck OVAC Champion

–Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Finalist

–Career Record: 149-18

–Senior Record: 28-2

–Future Plans: Justin plans to attend a technical college

–Head Coach: Shaun Smith

–Assistant Coaches: Dave Jeffrey, Dean Moore, Andy Church, Bruce Martin, Tyler Green, David Jeffrey, John Price, and Jeremy Layner


–Two-Time Ohio State Division III Silver Medalist (2016-2017)

–Four-Time Ohio State Place-winner

–2016 Ron Mauck OVAC Champion

–Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Place-winner

–Three-Time Ohio District Champion

–Four-Time Ohio Sectional Champion

–Career Record: 192-13

–Senior Record: 50-2

–Quinnparticipated in the annual OVAC vs. MAC All-Star Meet

–Future Plans: Greg plans to attend college and continue his brilliant wrestling career.

–Head Coach: Sean Grinch

–Assistant Coaches: Bryan Crozier, Luke Burkhardt, and Chase Grinch

Official’s Corner

This year four OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament. They are Shane Kildow, Ed “Buzz” Evans (2017 WV Wrestling Official of the Year), Ray Marling, and Ken McWilliams in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio.

Also, two OVAC officials were selectd for states in Ohio. Jim Copney officiated at the Ohio Individual State Championships and Rich Heavilin officiated at the Ohio Dual Meet State Championships this year.

Many congratulations are extended to all seven of these fine OVAC officials.


The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 – John Crain, Oak Glen; Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 – Dave Wood, Cameron; Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 – Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna; Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 – Eric Potts, Cameron; Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 – R. C. Anderson, Cameron; John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 – Ryan Dudas, Cameron; Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 – Chad Burge, Cameron; Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 – Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park; Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 – Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue; Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John’s

1997 – Dewitt Stanley, Brooke; Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 – Chad Pratz, Linsly; Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 – Alex McClung, Oak Glen; Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 – Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park; Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 – Eric Noel, Oak Glen; Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 – Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen; John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 – Phil Bliss, Brooke; David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 – Casey Hughes, Cameron; Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 – Dustin Richey, John Marshall; Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 – Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen; Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 – Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park; James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 – Zach Basich, Wheeling Central; Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 – Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park; Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 – Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna; Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 – Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park; Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 – David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South; Jeremy Border, Caldwell

2013 – Lance Hill, Parkersburg South; Alex Quinn, Shadyside

2014 – Jonny Davis, Wheeling Park; Kameron Rayner, Caldwell

2015 – Dallas Baciak, Wheeling Park; Seth Bloor, Wellsville

2016 – Isaiah Myers, Wheeling Park; Tariq Wilson, Steubenville

2017 – Justin Allman, Parkersburg South; Greg Quinn, Shadyside