OVAC mat stars set for ‘Clash of Champions’

The Ohio Valley Athletic Conference has put together another formidable lineup for the “Clash of Champions” against western Pennsylvania’s Midwestern Athletic Conference.

The event will take place Tuesday at West Allegheny High School in Imperial, Pa. Wrestling begins at 7 p.m.

Eight current or former OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament champions are listed on the OVAC roster, including seven that claimed titles in January. They are Steubenville’s Peyton Blasko (126) and Anthony Rice (152); Parkersburg South’s Zane Hinzman (160) and Louden Haga (285); John Marshall’s Anthony Carman (182); Weirton Madonna’s Garrett Cook (220); and University’s Jacob Simpson (132).

Blasko was named the David Bierkortte Award winner which symbolizes the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the tournament as voted on by tournament coaches.

Weirton Madonna’s Alec Cook (145) finished third this year, but won a W.Va. state championship for the second consecutive year.

Finishing as runnersup in this year’s OVAC event are Oak Glen’s Shawn Moore (113); Meadowbrook’s Terry Gattrell (120); Steubenville’s Jacson Muldrew (132); Bridgeport’s Tino Kusic (170) and Wheeling Park’s Dylan Wood (220).

Weir’s C.J. Helms (145) completes the team which is comprised by the top seniors in each weight class. There will be no match contested at 106. However, there will be two at 145.

Barnesville’s Jayson Stephens is head coach for the OVAC squad. He guided the Shamrocks to the Class 3A title.

A pre-tournament banquet will be held at Undo’s in Weirton on Monday. It begins at 6 p.m.