Ferry’s Bliss wins again on junior tour

With each passing week, we draw even closer to the start of what could be one of the area’s most memorable prep golf seasons.

Area players continued their preparation by taking part in the most recent stop of the National Bank Junior Golf Tournament at Green Valley Golf Club in New Philadelphia.

Martins Ferry’s Kaitlyn Bliss made it two wins in a row in the girls’ 16-18 division with a round of 80. She was 11 shots better than runner-up Mikayla Johnson.

On the boys’ side, Ferry’s Andrew Chlon was third in the 16-18 year old division with a round of 78, which was two shots back of Buckeye Trail’s Jessi Roe.


Patricia Marcum has retired as the head golf coach at Beallsville High School. Taking over the reins of the Blue Devils’ program is former Blue Devils’ golfer Jerry Brown. Brown is a 2005 Beallsville High graduate and was a four-year letterman.



The Salt Fork Junior Golf Tournament, sponsored by the Meadowbrook Golf Boosters, will be played on Monday, July 30. Divisions will be Boys 13-14, Boys 15-16, Boys 17-18, Girls 13-15, and Girls 16-18. Age will be determined on the day of the event. It will be a shotgun start at 10 a.m. Caddies are allowed, but caddies must carry clubs. Spectators may use carts. Cost is $30, which includes lunch and a tee shirt. Salt Fork members pay only $20. Entry deadline is July 25. Any questions, call the tournament director at (740) 260-9360.


The annual Fred & Mary Jo Mehlman Independence Day Tournament was held last Wednesday at the Belmont Hills Country Club.

The event was played under a 2 net, best ball of four format.

Winning the top prize with a score of 116 was the foursome of Clay Wood, Dave Diosi, John Timko and Bill Keller.

There was a tie for second with a score of 117 between the foursome of Rennie Minor, Chuck Baker, The Tim Conway and Sonny Jacobs along with the team of Joe Wetzel, Joe Jeffries, John Vota and Dr. Rob Looby.

The Red Ball winners, which is a 1 net, best ball of four, was the team of Marlin Harper, Dave Johnson, Tyler Kettlewell and Bob Wade. The team posted a score of 62.



The sixth annual Bellaire Touchdown Club Scramble was held last Saturday. The foursome of Keifer Walton, Aung Hlaing, Mike McDonald and Jaron Snyder teamed for the victory with a score of 16-under. The squad of Lance Mehl, Bob Crabel, Gary Baracone and Jay Salva were second with a 15-under.

Finishing third was the team of Dave Bonar, Tim Hill, Brandon Heslep and Jimbo Hunt.

The longest drive was won by Frank Hibbitt. Closest to the pins went to Casey Coyne, T.J. Camp, Crabel, Kevin Lahna and Billy Marinacci.


The annual Independence Day Tournament was held last Wednesday with the front nine playing a best 2 balls of four format and the backnine was a scramble, but both sides of the course utilized a Stableford Points Scoring System.

The winning team of Tanner Carroll, Craig Och, John Cummer and Jacob Nickell finished with 63 points.

The squad of B. Ghaphery, Gene Fahey, Jim Jorden and Ben Exley IV was second with 59 points, while 53 points was good enough for third with the team of J. Marchlenski, Dave Miller, Jeff Shultz and Wes Nickell.

Jay Adams won the closest to the pin on #3 and Jorden claimed the closest to the pin on No. 9.


The Glessner and Associates event was held and eight players, in the medal division, fired rounds of 35. Gary Cooey was declared the winner, while Mike Brickner was second. Art Lightner was third and Chris Bommer was fourth.

In the handicap portion of the event, Mike DeSantis prevailed with a score of 32. Dick Moore was second with a 33 and Bob Hicks, who also shot a 33, was third.

Last Sunday, the Kupfer Brothers Logging event was held. Roger Kupfer won the 18-hole event with a round of 67. He was a shot better than Nick Klamut. Larry Goodnight and Bob McLaughlin each carded a round of 70.

Orie Robinson prevailed in the handicap division with a round of 62. Lloyd Carmichael was second, also with a 62.


  • THE ST. Joseph’s Holy Name Society of Tiltonsville will hold a four-man golf scramble on Saturday, Aug. 18 at Fairway River Links in Rayland. The event will begin with a shotgun start at 7 a.m. The cost to enter is $50 per person, which includes golf, cart, food, refreshments, prizes. There will be closest to the pins and other contests during the round. For more information or to register, please call 740-859-9304.
  • THE 9TH annual Beallsville High School Golf Team Scramble will be held on Saturday, Aug. 4 at Switzerland of Ohio Country Club in Beallsville. The event will begin with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start and the cost is $50 per golfer, which includes golf, cart, food, refreshments and prizes. For more information or to register, please call Kate Dietrich at 740-458-0219.
  • THE SECOND annual Chris Miller Memorial Golf Tournament will be held on Sunday, Aug. 12 at Wheeling Country Club. The event will begin with a shotgun start at 1 p.m. The cost to enter is $100 per player, which includes golf, cart, boxed lunch, beverages, games, prizes and dinner following the round. All proceeds benefit the Chris Miller Fund. For more information or to register, please contact Mike Romaine at 304-242-6620 or Jason Martin at 304-232-2020.

Staskey can be reached at sstaskey@timesleaderonline.com