Ohio Valley Seniors tourney to tee off on Aug. 26 in Steubenville

One of the staples of the Ohio Valley senior golf circuit is set for Aug. 26 at Steubenville Country Club.

The 70th annual Ohio Valley Seniors Golf Association event will tee off at 12:30 p.m. in a shotgun start format.

The tournament is made up of players from Belmont Hills, Cadiz, East Liverpool, Moundsville, Steubenville, Wheeling and Williams Country Clubs.

The tournament will consist of six age groups (50-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75-79 and 80 and above).

The defending overall champion in the event is Larry Landtiser. The overall team champion was the squad from Moundsville Country Club.

For more information, please contact Phil Pata at 695-0691.

As a note, to participate in this event, you must be a member of one of the above clubs.



The annual Honeywell Junior Tournament was held last week at the Moundsville Country Club.

Wheeling Park’s Cole Hand was the overall champion, posting a round of 72. He also won the 15 and 16 year old division. Casey O’Korn finished second in the age group.

Shadyside graduate Adam Stupak fired a round of 75 to win the 17 and 18 year old division. He was two shots ahead of Trevor Mudrak and four shots better than St. C. senior Seth Vannoy.

Jared Jorden was the champion of the 13 and 14 year old division with a score of 79. He edged out Peyton Moore by a stroke. Ryan Payne posted an 85 to win the 12 and under grouping. Trey Blain was second with a 90.

All told, more than 60 players took part in the event.

According to Moundsville CC Professional Brian Hamrick, Linsly was the school with the most representatives.


The Bush Lipinski-Walt Goszytla Memorial was held on July 31. Chris Bommer won the medal division with a round of 30. His score was eight shots better than runner-up Rich Colley. Jim Druschel was third. He, too, cared a 38.

Bob Green claimed the handicap portion of the event with a round of 32. Lloyd Carmichael was second with a 32 and Ted Koski was third with a 32.

The Bob Fehr Memorial was held on Aug. 4. The event is a 9-hole scotch and 9-hole scramble format.

The duo of McLaughlin and Klamut prevailed in the event with a round of 63. Robinson and Coram were second with a 64.

Caldwell and Doran captured the handicap division with a round of 60. Campbell and Mitchell were second with a 61.



David Hartke captured the championship flight title with a two-day score of 149.

He fired a 74 on day one and followed it up with a 75. Bob Clark, who shot a 79 during day one, came back with a 72 to finish second overall. Joe Doerr was third after posting rounds of 74 and 79.

In the first flight, George Melnik posted a 139 to prevail by a shot against Jim Dailer and two shots over Fred Wetzel.

Gary Kiedaisch was the champion of the second flight with a score of 133. He was five shots better than Bill Widmer and six shots ahead of Dave Slonaker.

John Shafer was the champion of the third flight by 10 shots over Andy Garber. Shafer posted a round of 133.


Rick Wheeler was the latest winner in the closest to the pin at the Senecavilla course. Jeff Peters posted the closest to the pin on the second shot. The low gross team play went to Stavroff and Mayberry, which posted a round of 35. Low net went to Bickford and Coblentz with a score of 34.

Staskey can be reached at sstaskey@timesleaderonline.com