OFF THE TEE: Myers wins OVGA Player of the Year once again

Another highly successful season of the Ohio Valley Golf Association wrapped up last week on the course with the Ohio Valley Amateur and then officially dropped the curtain on the 2013 season with the annual awards banquet held this past Wednesday.

Bryan Myers captured the season title by virtue of a victory in a playoff against Thadd Obecny. The tournament’s format was altered due to rain.

All of last Saturday’s play at Steubenville CC was washed out and it was held on Sunday with 27 holes at Wheeling Country Club.

Both Myers and Obecny shot 65 for the first 18 and then a 36 for the next nine. Myers prevailed in a playoff to wrap up the title.

Rico Simonetti finished third with a 103 and Michael Koreski and Bob Potts both shot 104 to finished tied for fourth.

Dick Antill won the first flight with a 115, while Dave Clarke was the senior flight champion with a round of 104.

Along with the OVGA Player of the Year awards, the association honored Ron Helms as a legend of golf. During his career, he’s won 18 medalist titles and owns an astounding 62 aces. Special recognition award went to Brian Syrylo of Play It Again Sports.

Obecny finished as the champion of the junior tour. He was the top junior golfer in five of seven events.


Three area prep players are still competing this season. They’ll embark on district play this week. Competing in Division II at River Greens will be Union Local’s Tristan Bruce and St. Clairsville’s Seth Vannoy.

The top three individuals – not on qualifying teams – will qualify for the state tournament at Northstar Golf Club in Sunbury.

In Division III, Beallsville’s John Dietrich earned the right to compete in the district at River Greens on Tuesday.


A pair of former St. Clairsville Red Devils are squaring off with one another in the Division II Midwest Regional Golf Championships in Chicago. Adam Jeffries and Zach Keylor were two key cogs in helping to guide the Red Devils to back-to-back state golf tourney appearances.

Now, Jeffries plays for Alderson-Broaddus and Keylor plays at Walsh.


The Belmont Hills CC season came to an end over the weekend with the End of Season Tournament that happened Sunday.

The team of Clay Wood, J.C. Thrash and Trevor Mudrak prevailed with a score of 61. One shot back was the foursome of Bryan Woodford, Dave Diosi, Andy Yanok and Bill Sokolowski.

Skins were recorded on the seventh, 10th and 11th holes. On the seventh hole, the foursome of Larry Gertscher, Terry Carson, Bill Keller and Michelle Anderson recorded a skin.

On No. 10, the team of Dave Murphy, John Estadt and Pat Estadt had one and on the 11th the winning team recorded a skin.

By virtue of being part of the second-place squad, Diosi was crowned as the Belmont Hills CC money-list champion for the season.

A special recognition was given to Gary Young. He played in all 16 of the events the club hosted throughout the season.


The Stag Day event was held on Sept. 25. Nick Klamut prevailed with a 72 in the medal play. Dave Slonaker was second and he, too, fired a 72. Dick Moore was third with a 77. Orie Robinson posted a 70 to win the handicap division.

The World Series of Golf was held on Sept. 22. Roger Kupfer posted a 66, which was three shots better than Dan Willming. Art Lightner was third with a 70.

Gary Mercer prevailed in the handicap scoring with a 65. Rich Colley fired a 67 to finish second.


I was failed to get any of my majors predictions correct this year. I am going with the United States to win the President’s Cup convincingly this week at Muirfield Village in Dublin.


This is the final Off the Tee column for the season. I appreciate all of the results and information that was submitted. We look forward to next season.