Five ‘Teams of Distinction’ selected by Martins Ferry Athletic HOF Committee

The Martins Ferry Athletic Hall of Fame Committee has selected five more deserving teams from the past as “Teams of Distinction” to be honored during the coming school year.

The “Teams of Distinction” category was established to bring to light Purple Rider teams who may not have been state champions like the three teams inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2015 (1930 baseball; 1941 basketball; 1941 football) but they set standards in their sport by reaching the regional finals and/or state level, and others deemed to have gone “above and beyond” in some manner.

The teams selected this year include 1998 Wrestling; 2002 Volleyball; 2002 Football; 2004 Football; and 2005 Softball.

These teams will be recognized at the Ferry vs. Linsly football game on Friday, Sept. 4 at halftime. Any players/coaches who were members of these teams planning to attend that night should contact either Joe Mamone (740-633-0684, ext 1312 or joe.mamone@omeresa.net) or Mark Cook (740-633-0684, ext. 1427 or mark.cook1@omeresa.net) by Aug. 15 so a list of those attending can be put together.

Photos of these teams will join those previously selected on the wall inside the MFHS cafeteria.

Here are this year’s “Teams of Distinction”:

1998 Wrestling Team

The 1998 wrestling team captured the school’s third overall championship in the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Tournament and was also the Class 3A titlist. Under the guidance of Hall of Fame coach Jeff Oberdick, the Purple Riders were also the OHSAA Division III Sectional champions and qualified eight wrestlers for the OHSAA State Wrestling Tournament – the most in school history. The team included Anthony Mamone, Todd Miller, Doug Curnes, Jason Schaal, Greg Ware, Shane Brost, Scott Roth, David Cornett, Dave Proctor, John Yoder, Justin Hughes, B.J. Hedger, Kirk Roth, J.T. Stegner, Dan Jones, Andy Dobson, Tim Weaver, Steve Yarnezin, Tom Bumbico, Nick Redinger, Chris Ward, Rob Duncan, George Padgelek, Tom Sobota, Casey Berisford, Craig Bruney, George Shreve and Sam Cruise. Babe Sidon was Oberdick’s assistant.

2002 Volleyball Team

The 2002 volleyball team posted the school’s only undefeated regular season and finished the year with a 24-2 record. The Lady Riders, coached by Tom Suriano, were OHSAA Division III Sectional champions and D-III District runner-up, and also were OVAC Class 3A Tournament runner-up, defeating St. Clairsville in the semifinals before falling to Shenandoah in the championship.. The team included Hilary Smith, Bianca Piergallini, Natalee Regal, Jenny Secrist, Lindsay Coyne, Stephanie Suriano, Jennifer Rice, Danielle Schemp, Megan Ware, Shae Marchbank, Holly Apostolec, Leah Newland, Angela Cerasoli, Kelsey Carpenter, Megan Simpson, Lychel Jozwiak, Jayme Kalinski, Libby Hodor, Megan Anzak, Emily Carlier, Kacie Strauss and Amy Riethmiller. Assistant coaches included Debbie Carpenter, Paula Riethmiller, Kim Ogilbee, Erin Lude and Susan Suriano.

2002 Football Team

The 2002 football team registered an undefeated regular season, winning the OVAC Class 3A championship under Coach Dave Bruney and earning an OHSAA Division IV, Region 15 playoffs where they dropped a 27-24 overtime heartbreaker to Coshocton. The Riders finished with a 10-1 record and outscored their opponents by a whopping 390-98 margin The team included John Eden, Kyle Stewart, Lance Mirich, Tyrone Platt, Mike Mamone, Derek Simpson, Shawn Waleisky, James Brown, Devon Trouten, Seth Holzopfel, Zac Orzolek, Chris Schramm, Mike Edwards, Shawn Williams, David Edwards, Josh Treadway, Charles Thompson, Kyle Ray, Kevin Lee, Trevor Bruney,Anthony Reasbeck, Nelson Jordan, Brandon Garcia, Nick Stankovich, Robert Kittel, Robert Machine, Ryan Hunker, Duncan Burress, Shane Yarnovic, David Treadway, Justin Provenzano, Jason Jones, Chase Watts, Zach Fairbanks, David DeFranco, Ryan Church, Chas Yoder, Chuck Zaney, Nick Kemp, Keith Davis, Clay Tucker, Dustin Drohomirecky, Gino Mehl, Justin Bungard, Don Machine, Matt Robinson, Jesse Jones, Luke Warren, John Nagel. The coaching staff included Babe Sidon, Justin Kropka, Mike Delatore, Tony Collette, Jeff Dhromirecky, Dennis Kasper, Greg Steele, Jason Marling, Curt Secrest, Dirk Fitch, John Bennett, Jim Hoover, Dwayne “Bubba” Coleman, Paul Matuska, Bill Bruney, Jim Fogle, Mike Rose and Nick Stankovich. Scores: Cambridge (35-14); Buckeye Local (62-7); Steubenville Catholic (42-22); Union Local (55-0); St. Clairsville (35-0); River (17-0); Indian Creek (22-0); Painesville Harvey (34-14); Linsly (31-7); Bellaire (33-7); Playoffs/Coshocton (lost 27-24 OT).

2004 Football Team

The 2004 football team’s opener with Lisbon David Anderson was postponed, but Coach Dave Bruney’s Riders didn’t miss a beat and put together an unbeaten 9-0 regular season and then advanced farther in the OHSAA playoffs than ever, winning the Division IV, Region 15 championship by defeating West Muskingum, Bellaire Albany. Ferry lost to Youngstown Cardinal Mooney in the state semifinals, finishing the year with a 12-1 record and outscoring its opponents by a 466-111 margin. The team included Matt Robinson, Ryan Church, Chas Yoder, Clay Tucker, Gino Mehl, Jon Nagel, Dave DeFranco, A.J. Thompson, Jason Jones, Chase Watts, Donald Machine, Chuck Zaney, Nick Kemp, Jesse Jones, Justin Provenzano, Dom Bopp, Zach Fairbanks, Luke Warren, Ben Smith, Gary Ball, Andrew Chesonis, Chad Ware, Manoel Sampaio, Justin DeVault, Bobby Mitchell, Matt Smith, Justin Allen, Caleb Statler, Billy Antill, Mike Bartels, Ray Unterzuber, Boyd Carpino, Jeff Coole, Zach Zabitski, Chris Lovell, Justin Patterson, Mike Erwin, Jeremy Paden, Jamal Murray, Shane Pamphilis, Zach Bowers, Dale Knollinger, Shane Clark, Josh Bowers, Jacob Bowers, Jacob Klug, Ryan Zann, Rick Crummitt, Daniel Klug, Weston Ball. Bruney’s coaching staff included Tony Collette, Justin Kropka, Mike Rose, Jason Marling, Jim Fogle, Greg Steele, Paul Matuska, Bill Bruney, Dirk Fitch, John Bennett and Jay Agnew. Scores: Lisbon David Anderson (ppd); Buckeye Local (32-7); Bloom Carroll (67-0); Union Local (40-0); Watkins Memorial (48-14); Sullivan Black River (33-7); Indian Creek (27-7); St. Clairsville (48-14); John Glenn (27-7); Bellaire (21-7); Playoffs – West Muskingum (49-7); Bellaire (33-7); New Albany (35-7); Division IV State Semifinals – Youngstown Cardinal Mooney (lost 27-6).

2005 Softball Team

The 2005 softball team enjoyed the school’s best season to date. The Lady Riders of Coach Jess Cordery finished with a 23-4 record; captured the OVAC Class 3A championship and won OHSAA Division III Sectional and District titles to earn a spot in the D-III Regional semifinals where they lost a 4-3 heartbreaker to eventual state champion Sycamore Mohawk. The team included Megan Anzak, Kelsey Carpenter, Lynsey Agnew, Megan Ware, Angela Cerasoli, Jessica Hilton, Sarah Barkey, Stephanie Payne, Ashley Suto, Kara Winzenreid, Sarah Burch, Jordan Ford, Kayla Lewis, Brittany Hood, Kristian Cerasoli, Megan Jones, Kayla Kuminkoski and Victoria Zigaceek. Cordery’s coaching staff included Debbie Carpenter, Kollin Campanizzi, Carrie Oliver and Ken Campanizzi. Tournament Scores: D-III Sectional: St. Clairsville (won 12-3); Steubenville Catholic (won 4-3). D-III District: Indian Valley (won 6-2); Ridgewood (won 4-1). D-III Regional Semifinals: Sycamore Mohawk (lost 4-3).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)