Jones Elected as Ohio House Majority Whip

COLUMBUS – State Rep. Don Jones, R-Freeport, was unanimously elected last week by his Republican colleagues to serve as the Majority Whip for the Ohio House of Representatives of the 134th General Assembly.

“It is a tremendous honor to be elected Majority Whip by my colleagues for the upcoming General Assembly,” said Jones. “I’m excited to assume this leadership role to continue fighting hard for Southeast Ohio and for all Ohio students to receive the best education possible.”

The election took place at a caucus meeting of returning members and members-elect. Jones currently serves as chairman of the House Primary & Secondary Education Committee and has held that role since October 2019. Prior to that he was the vice chairman of the committee since the beginning of the 133rd General Assembly.

Before being elected to office in 2018, Jones was an agricultural sciences teacher at Harrison Hills City Schools for 23 years.

Additionally, other members of the House Leadership were elected:

Speaker: Bob Cupp, R-Lima

Speaker Pro Tempore: Tim Ginter, R-Salem

Majority Floor Leader: Bill Seitz, R-Green Township

Assistant Majority Floor Leader: Rick Carfagna, R-Genoa Township

Assistant Majority Whip: Cindy Abrams, R-Harrison

Terms for the 134th General Assembly begin Jan. 1. Opening Day for the new General Assembly will be Jan. 4.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today