Candidates certified for May 4 primary

ST. CLAIRSVILLE — After a hectic general election Nov. 3, the Belmont County Board of Elections is expecting a smaller primary election May 4 with no issues on the ballot and only one contested race in Martins Ferry.

No primary elections will be held in Monroe or Harrison counties, where no candidates filed and no issues were placed on the ballots.

TheBelmont County board met Wednesday afternoon to certify the candidates. The 4th Ward in Martins Ferry is contested and Democrats will choose between incumbent Rick Rodgers and challenger Pamela Shrodes.

Other candidates were certified for the ballot but are running uncontested. They include:

– Incumbent Kristine Davis as the Democratic candidate for president of Martins Ferry City Council;

– Thomas J. Burns, John A. Regis Sr. and Jim Schramm, all seeking at-large council seats in Martins Ferry;

– Republican Robert P. Hunker st Ward council member in Martins Ferry;

– Republican Bruce Shrodes for 2nd Ward council member in Martins Ferry; and

– Democrat Suzanne C. Armstrong for 3rd Ward council member in Martins Ferry.

In the village of Shadyside, voters will select Republicans John Nick Ferrelli and Louis Michael Meintel and Democrats Robert Carl Gorrell and Melanie L. Haswell to fill four of six open council positions.

“The board certified their petitions. The only primary though will be in Precinct 13 in Martins Ferry,” Election Board Director Kelly McCabe said. “The other candidates that filed will go on to the November ballot.”

McCabe added that every other primary tends to be smaller and with fewer contested races.

“Sometimes in the odd (numbered) years that happens,” she said.

The regular elections board meeting will be held at 4 p.m. Feb. 22 at the board office, 52180 National Road.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today