Martins Ferry High School bids farewell to the class of 2024

Carmine Omari Stroman salutatorian
Walker Henry Romshak valedictorian

MARTINS FERRY — The Martins Ferry High School Commencement Ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 26, at the Dave Bruney Football Complex with gates opening at 1 p.m. Parents, relatives, and friends are welcome to attend the outside event. In the event of inclement weather, the ceremony will be held in the Tolbert Gymnasium where attendance will be limited to ticket-holders.

Walker Henry Romshak has been named valedictorian, and Carmine Omari Stroman has been named salutatorian. Walker Romshak, Carmine Stroman, and Faith Smith (third in class) will be featured student speakers. Attending the event will be members of the Class of 1974, celebrating 50 years since their commencement ceremony. Mr. Ken Walton, 1974 class president, will be the guest speaker.

Romshak is the son of Ryan and Hope Romshak. During high school, Walker was active in the National Honor Society, Chy-Phy science club, Robotics Club, bowling, track, and cross country, and earned many awards for his accomplishments. He represented MFHS at the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Conference and on the OVAC Varsity Board. For his academic endeavors, Walker received scholarships from Softite Federal Credit Union, MFHS Alumni Association, Ken Dennis Memorial Fund, and the University of Akron. Walker has been accepted into the Williams Honors College at the University of Akron where he plans to major in electrical engineering.

Stroman is the son of Cyrus Stroman. At MFHS, Carmine was an active participant of the Chy-Phy science club, National Honor Society, Robotics Club, cross country, and bowling. Carmine received several awards including the National Honor Society Award, the Chamber of Commerce Academic Excellence Award, and the Robert McNabb Salutatorian Award. Carmine plans to attend the University of Akron to pursue a bachelor’s degree in computer science.

The 91 graduates of the Class of 2024 include Dalia Acosta Benedicto, Kaden Shane Archer, Michaela Ray Beale, Carter Thomas Bennett, Rocco Lee Beveridge, Mathew Douglas Bex, Mirrah Pauline Blackwell, Gabriel Michael Boggs, Trajan James Boggs, Brock Kristian Brewer, Demitris Jordan Briggs, Emmy Catherine Buck, Gwyneth Ellen Cable, Luis Marcos Campelo Carneiro, McKenzie Rose Carte*, Nasiah Marques Carthen, Madeline Grace Clark, Haley Elizabeth Coddington, Hayden Michael Coe, Megan Marie Coffman, Stephen Andrew Cole, Maria Grace Collette, Elijah James Croker, Seraphine Vlola Darugna, Alexis Jolynn Dobson, Jillian Nicole Doty, Eli Eveerett Ewan, Nathan Michael Ferron, Kylah Lynn Florio, Shayden Robert Fogle, Brian James Frank, Makenzie Shane Garrison, Gabriella Lynn Gianangeli, Arianna Des Giles, Braydon Ray Goff, Gavin Richard Hall, Paul Michael Heagy, Ryan Michael Hennessey, Kortasia Ann Hilson-Irvin, Kenneth Demetiris Irvin, Destiny Janae Johnson, Stephen Tyler Keel, Matthew Thomas Kennedy, Sydney Marie Koller*, Turner Dayton Krol, Skylar Elizabeth Kuri, Andrew Lewis Leiffer, Alexis Nicole Lemmon, Angelina Becc Long, Baron Jaescott Lucey, Danielle Nicole Lude, David Charles Maguire, Lanee Raeann Denise Matz*, Ella Nicole McFarland, Emma Skye McFarland, Hannah Lynn Meeker, Scott Jerold Meeker, Veronica Leigh Miro, Nevaeh Jacqueline Lee Morris, Khasar Nyamtsogt, Carlie Marie Oberdick, Landen Alexander Patterson, Premsinee Pisarnwiriyakul, Audrey Renee Radeski, Mason Thomas Redinger, Loann Reveniaud, Kyndahl Diana Richardson, Walker Henry Romshak*, Kristin Dauhn Savage, Breanna Stephanie Shaw, Sarah Elizabeth Shreve*, Ashlyn Nikole Smith*, Faith Marie Smith*, Sydney Marie Smith, Carmine Omari Stroman*, Anyssa Carolena Suazo, Monique Cheyanne Summers, Elisa Tamborini, Ryan Mansell Theaker*, Tyler Gage Thomas, Jordi Torres Lavall, Travis Nicholas Trout, Jaden Raeann Tucker, Aiden Lucus Varner, Joshua James Vetanze, Danielle Emerson Walker, Sophia Renee Warner, Markaya Danielle Wells, Abigail Mae Wilson, Laci Elizabeth Zinn, and Teagan Shae Zonker.

The asterisk (*) denotes students graduating with honors.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today