NARO launches a local chapter

T-L Photo/JENNIFER COMPSTON-STROUGH Taylor Abbott, a board member for the newly formed Ohio chapter of the National Association of Royalty Owners and Monroe County treasurer, left, and board President Barry Browne sign documents establishing the group on Monday.

ST. CLAIRSVILLE – A new land and royalty owners’ group that is part of the National Association of Royalty Owners is forming an Ohio chapter.

The National Association of Royalty Owners, or NARO, is nationwide organization that encourages and promotes exploration and production of minerals in the United States while preserving, protecting, advancing and representing the interests and rights of mineral and royalty owners.

Over the past year, a group of Ohio mineral owners has been laying the groundwork to establish an Ohio chapter with the national office. The Ohio chapter grew out of the NARO Appalachia Chapter in order to better focus on land and mineral owner issues in Ohio.

On Monday, the board signed paperwork to formally apply for tax-exempt status as a state and federally recognized 501(c)6 nonprofit organization. A variety of backgrounds and professions make up a board of directors leading the organization.

NARO Ohio officers include the following:

T-L Photo/JENNIFER COMPSTON-STROUGH Board memberS for the newly formed Ohio chapter of the National Association of Royalty Owners gather at Emens & Wolper law offices in St. Clairsville on Monday for a meeting to officially establish the group. Seated from left are Janet Wittenconn, Heidi R. Kemp and Patricia Marcum. Standing behind them, from left, are William Knox, Taylor Abbott and board President Barry Browne.

∫ President Barry Browne of Guernsey County, a drilling consultant with a master of science degree in petroleum engineering;

∫ Janet Witten Conn, vice president, resides in Jackson Township, Monroe County and brings years of oil and gas knowledge as a professional librarian and researcher;

∫ William Knox, treasurer, has been a certified public accountant in Belmont County for over 25 years; and

∫ Taylor Abbott of Clarington is Monroe County treasurer and serves as secretary.

The board of directors includes Rebecca Clutter, of Medina County, with extensive government and legislative affairs experience; Heidi Kemp of Belmont County, a lawyer in the firm of Emens & Wolper in St. Clairsville; and Patricia Marcum of Monroe County, a retired teacher and mineral owner.

In October the new chapter will be formally recognized and introduced at the national conference set for Oct. 2-4 in Pittsburgh. During the conference sessions will be held on Ohio-related issues, including pipeline negotiations, well production, and owner/gas producer relationships. Individuals, companies and family trusts that own oil and gas royalty interests in Ohio are encouraged to join NARO Ohio.

Varying levels of memberships are available and can be found online at naro-us.org.

Members have exclusive access to various events, workshops, conferences, materials and other resources that can assist them in managing and understanding their mineral rights while networking with other land and mineral owners. NARO Ohio is planning to hold free informational events in counties that are within the Utica and Marcellus Shale play. For more information call Barry Browne at 281-229-0867 or follow NARO Ohio on Facebook for dates and locations.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today