Welker OVAC Wrestlers of the Year announced

WHEELING — Rick Welker chairs the committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling dignitaries that select the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Dr. Dan Doyle and Ron Mauck. The Ohio representatives are Kim North and Sean Smith.

Today, the committee has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 33rd annual winners of “The Dr. Bill Welker OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award.”

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year’s winners are Parkersburg South’s Braxton Amos and Beaver Local’s Cole McComas.


∫ Three-Time West Virginia Regional Champion (2018-2019-2020)

∫ Three-Time West Virginia State Champion (2018-2019-2020)

∫ Three-Time OVAC Champion (2018-2019-2020)

∫ West Virginia AAA Most Outstanding Wrestler (2019-2020)

∫ Ironman Champion (2017-2018)

∫ Powerade Champion (2017-2018)

∫ Robert Dutton Award Winner (2019)

∫ Career Record: 142-0 (91 Falls)

∫ Senior Record: 48-0

∫ Future Plans: Braxton plans to matriculate and wrestle at the University of Wisconsin on a full scholarship.

∫ Head Coach: Shaun Smith

∫ Assistant Coaches: Dave Jeffery, David Jeffery, Dean Moore, Jeremy Layton, Andy Church, Andrew Parsons, John Price, Mark Board, and Tyler Koreski.


∫ Three-Time Ohio State Division II Finalist (2017 – 2018 – 2019)

∫ Two-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Champion (2017-2018)

∫ Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC place-winner

∫ Two-Time Ohio Sectional Champion

∫ Three-Time Ohio District Champion

∫ Two-Time Eastern Ohio Wrestling League Champion

∫ Four-Time Hoppel Invitational Champion

∫ Top Gun Champion

∫ Career Record: 172-18 (School Record)

∫ Senior Record: 37-5

∫ Future Plans: Cole plans to matriculate and wrestle at Rider University on a full scholarship.

∫ Head Coach: Johnny McComas

∫ Assistant Coaches: Mark Emmerling, Jordan Williams, Doug Hoppel, T J Miller, and Charlie Dolnosich.


Congratulations to Parkersburg South’s Coach Shaun Smith, his staff, and the “Patriot” wrestling team for winning the 2020 OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Tournament and the West Virginia AAA State Championships! Also, many kudos to Amos, ranked #1 in the country at 220 pounds, who has also received the OVAC Bierkortte Outstanding Wrestler Award, the West Virginia Most Outstanding AAA Wrestler Award and was last year’s winner of the Robert Dutton Award as the best wrestler in the Mountain State.


This year four OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament. They are Shane Kildow, Jim Copney, Tim Collins and Edward “Buzzy” Evans, along with former area official Chris Diserio.

Also, many congratulations are extended to veteran OVAC official Jack Regis on his induction into the Ohio High School Wrestling Officials Hall of Fame.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today