Three local players named to all-Ohio in DIII and DIV

COLUMBUS — A trio of high school boys basketball players were named to the all-Ohio second team in Divisions III and IV on Wednesday.

Martins Ferry’s Alex Reese was second team in D-III. The 6-6 junior averaged 25.9 points and 13 rebounds a game for the Purple Riders who advanced to the Eastern District finals before bowing out to Malvern.

In Division IV, Monroe Central’s Tucker Howell and River’s Kabel Isaly were both listed on the second team. Howell, a 5-10 junior, led the Seminoles to the Eastern District finals with a 19.9 scoring norm. Isaly, a 5-9 senior, scored at a 23.4 clip for the Pilots.

Earning special mention in D-III were Bellaire’s Mac Mac Pettigrew; Union Local’s Dre Saunders; Harrison Central’s Hayden Cassidy and Buckeye Trail’s Charlie Perry.

Listed as honorable mention were Barnesville’s Asa Geilinger; Bellaire’s Mayson Sochor; Edison’s JD Henderson; Union Local’s duo of Alex Moore and Easton Ditzler and Fort Frye’s Zach Huffman.

Listed as special mention in Division IV were Shadyside’s Ben Wach; Toronto’s Kam Baker; Steubenville Catholic’s Benji Rook; Caldwell’s Carter Wheeldin and Shenandoah’s Carsten Smith.

Earning honorable mention were Bridgeport’s Jaleel Vincent; Monroe Central’s Chance Allen; Steubenville Catholic’s Tommy Pergi; Toronto’s Cayden Benton and Frontier’s Avery Powell.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today