Bordas & Bordas Golf Classic set for June 8-9

WHEELING — The 7th annual Bordas & Bordas Amateur Golf Classic is scheduled for June 8-9 at Oglebay Park’s par-71 Crispin Golf Course.

A purse of $10,000 is up for grabs in the 36-hole Medal and Best-Ball event, along with championship and senior (50+) flights.

There’s also a Junior Flight (must be enrolled in high school or lower) where the John B. Wilson Memorial Award is up for grabs. The trophy is named in honor of the late golf teacher and coach.

The tournament is one of the longest-running two-day tournaments in the tri-state area, dating back to the late 1930s. It’s also part of the year-long Oglebay Park Men’s Golf Club Tour.

“I love this time of year,” said Scott Blass of Bordas & Bordas Attorneys. “Crispin is in great shape and it’s the ‘player-friendly’ course where birdies are plentiful. The tournament is a good mix of 20-somethings and seniors, which makes it interesting.”

Defending champion Bryan “B.T” Myers, 51, of Wheeling looks to win another trophy. The three-time winner and five-time runner-up fired back-to-back rounds of 65 last year (-12) to end Howie Petersen’s (-11) two-year run as champion. Peterson, the former Weirton Madonna and West Liberty University star, made a wild run shooting a 30 on the back nine to put a scare into Myers but came up one stroke short. Peterson will once again be teamed with his father Trey this year.

Myers, 51, will be the hunted by a slew of young guns, including Petersen.

“I like battling these young guys,” Myers said. “They hit it a long way, but I can still compete with them.”

Marshall University’s Ryan Bilby, a Brooke High School alum and current Marshall University golfer, was a distant third (-7) last year but edged Myers for the victory in the golf club’s other “major tournament” the Kalkreuth Amateur Golf Championship in July. West Liberty’s Noah Seivertson (-7) tied Bilby for third.

Glen Robbins, Ohio, native Andrew Strope, 2016 champ B.J. Tulodzieski, and Seth Vannoy tied for fifth.

A bunch of former champions are in this year’s field, including Floyd Shuler who won the tournament 40 years ago in 1984, as well as 1981. Larry Lis Jr., a three-time champion (2002, 2005, 2008) is playing this year, and will pair with his son Austin, a former West Liberty golfer. Former Wheeling Park High School and University of Indianapolis golfer turned assistant golf coach Jacob Nickel won in 2017 and 2019. Linsly School golf coach Joey Seabright, a two-time champion (2011, 2020) will team with his brother Scott once again. Tulodzeiski, the Wintersville native is back to try and win a second title, since winning in 2016 and Wheeling veteran Mike Ricci Sr. won the championship in 2009.

Terry Dubois (’87, ’88, ’90, ’96,& ’98) and Evo Petri (’45, ’51, ’54, ’57 & ’59) are tied for the most championships with 5.

Wheeling’s Bobby Clark has won the last five Senior Division championships (’19-’23).

West Liberty men’s golf coach Thad Obecny II set a tournament and course record in 2015, when he shot a 59 in the final round to win the crown with a two-day total (126).

For the seventh straight year, the law firm will donate proceeds of the event to the Oglebay Foundation’s Access to the Parks Project, which allows underprivileged kids to use Oglebay and Wheeling Park for free.

The two-day tournament is open to the public, who can feel free to check out the action.

The tournament started out as the Bernhardt’s from 1945-1999. It was called the Welty Buick Classic from 2000-2006 and the Kalkreuth Roofing and Sheet Metal Tournament from 2007-2017.

You can still sign up to play in this year’s tournament until June 1 at Bordaslaw.com/golf or oglebaygc.com


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today