Myers to receive Magruder Distinguished Service Award

Tom Myers

WHEELING — Tom Myers is the epitome of a “behind the scenes” individual, assisting in a plethora of areas to help make the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference and its many events first class — a passion he shares with his wife, Linda. For his years of dedication to the conference, Myers has been named the 2024 recipient of the Denny Magruder Distinguished Service Award by the OVAC Hall of Fame Committee.

Myers’ primary involvements revolve around the OVAC Rudy Mumley All-Star Football Game, the OVAC Ron Mauck Wrestling Tournament and the OVAC Tom Rataiczak Museum Committee, but he’s always available to lend a hand wherever needed.

As a member of the all-star football game committee, he is visible at most events during game week including handing out equipment to the players on the first day of camp; hauling and distributing programs to various events including the Queen of Queens Pageant, the Pep Rally at Wheeling University, and to the game site at Wheeling Island Stadium. He also assists with player line-up at the OVAC George Strager Evening with the Stars Banquet and at the pep rally and then wraps things up by collecting equipment at the end of the game.

For nearly 40 years, he’s been responsible for program sales at the wrestling tournament for every session including setup, collecting money and storage.

Part of the museum committee since its inception, he joins a handful of others who gather weekly to clean cases and do setup of new items as needed.

Myers, a 1966 graduate of Warwood High School and a U.S. Army veteran, will be honored during the 20th OVAC Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Aug. 10 at WesBanco Arena in Wheeling.

Past recipients of the OVAC’s Distinguished Service Award include Denny Magruder (2010); Bob Robinson (2011); Carpenters Local #3 of Wheeling (2012); Judge Frank Fregiato (2013); WesBanco Arena Maintenance Staff (2014); Ohio University Eastern (2015); Oglebay Park (2016); Mickey Duffy (2017); Ron Miller (2018); Dave Schafer (2019); Ohio County Schools (2021); Brooke County Schools (2022) and Todd Fullerton (2023).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today