Area wrestlers prep for divisions

Wrestlers in Ohio are one step away from qualifying for the annual state tournament as regional action unfolds this weekend.

Division III participants are headed to Heath High School, with the Division II squads venturing to Gallia Academy near Gallipolis. The top four in each weight class advance to the Jerome Schottenstein Center on the campus of Ohio State University on March 8-10.

Division III

Barnesville, which is ranked No. 1 by Borofan, has 12 district qualifiers as the Shamrocks are seeking their fourth consecutive district title. The dozen entrants are led by sectional champions Johnathan Huntsman (113), Cole Carpenter (126), Dakota King (138), Reese Stephen (150), Skyler King (157) and Ayden King (165).

Stephen is a reigning state champion and Cleveland State University signee. Huntsman, Dakota King, Skyler King and Ayden King are all returning state placers. Dakota King is a three-time state placer and an Ohio State University recruit. Skyler King has placed twice, as has Stephen.

Other Barnesville wrestlers entered in the district are Easton Stephen (106), Ayden Andrews (120), Brayden Trigg (132), Karson Milhoan (144), Hines Ford (175) and Marshall Meade (285). Milhoan was a state qualifier last year at 165.

Martins Ferry has eight qualifiers in Charles Thompson (106), Silas Simpson (113), Jase Mahoney (120), Keenan Lucey (132), Richard Welshans (150), Shayden Fogle (157), Andrew Leiffer (165) and Tayson Palmer (215).

Union Local has four district qualifiers in Cole Rogers (106), Gavin Bolock (113), Gunnar Gossett (144) and Brody Perzanowski (157).

River also has four entrants in Hunter Strawn (138), Tyler Winkjler (157), Hunter Lyman (165) and Maddox Mozena (190).

Harrison Central and Edison have three each, while Bellaire, Bridgeport, Steubenville Catholic and Toronto all have two each. Shadyside has one.

The Huskies are represented by Hunter Bittinger (165) and the brothers Thomas — Lucas (215) and Landen (285). Lucas Thomas was a state runner up last winter.

The Wildcats trio is led by Ricky Sinsel (144) and includes Drake Givens (113) and Evan Yohman (132).

The Big Reds’ Grant Vasey (120) and Alex Ney (138); the Bulldogs’ Robert Weekley (113) and Jordan Noble (126); the Crusaders’ Chris Hermann (126) and Miguel Jaureji (132); the Red Knights’ Drake Bouscher (157) and Heath Thomas (285); and Tigers’ Andrew Osman (144) round out the local qualifiers.

Division II

Steubenville is sending nine participants to the district, led by champions Cal Beadling (138), Brody Saccoccia (150) and Savier Faulks (157). Saccoccia is a two-time state placer, including a second-place finish as a freshman.

The other Big Red entrants are Julius Mullins (126), Charlie Abbott (132), Cooper Smith (144), Landon Crosier (165), Noah West (190) and Beau Hudson (285).

St. Clairsville has five entrants in Carson Bishop (106), Braylon Leiffer (132), Luke Marling (175), Ryan Ivey (215) and Mason Wilt (285).

Buckeye Local will have three qualifiers in Denvar Nelson (175), Charles McFadden (215) and Brendan Stillion (285).

Indian Creek has two representatives in Ethan Llewellyn (165) and Luke McMillion (190).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today